cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub One Firmware Updates

FIXED
marksandler
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎16-05-2017

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

Hi Bob,
Yes the router is always on and connected. Is there anything else I can do this end to help solve the issue?

Thanks
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,325
Thanks: 2,998
Fixes: 187
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

Realised what's blocking it. 

Your router should have just rebooted and the update is now applied.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

marksandler
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎16-05-2017

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

Again thanks for your help Bob, I'll check when I get home from work.  

Regards

 

Mark

Kandinsky
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-09-2017

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

@bobpullen Could you please arrange it for my Hub One router's firmware to be updated automatically as it's never been updated since I had it and we do seem to be getting wifi dropouts so can only help I guess?  Is there anything I need to do to enable this on my end?

I did call technical support but they said "we don't send out firmware updates to routers" which seems to obviously not be true from posts on the forums.  Maybe a bit of training is needed?

 

Technical details below.

 

 Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number:  
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.217 Last updated Unknown
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 3 days, 14:19:49
6. Data rate: 2000 / 32397
7. Maximum data rate: 7463 / 38023
8. Noise margin: 16.0 / 7.3
9. Line attenuation: 25.9 / 26.0
10. Signal attenuation: 25.9 / 23.3
11. Data sent/received: 21.8 GB / 42.6 GB
12. Broadband username:  
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID:  
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 300 Mb/s))
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID:  
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
21. Firewall: Default
22. MAC Address: a0:1b:29:66:7a:5e
23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B
24. Software variant: AA
25. Boot loader: 1.0.0
SteveA
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,819
Thanks: 104
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎17-06-2007

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

I assume if our Hub Ones are the Ceased List (for any reason) then we won't get software updates any more?

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,325
Thanks: 2,998
Fixes: 187
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

@SteveA, that's right.

@Kandinsky, if you don't mind factory resetting your device, then I should be able to push the new firmware update to you. You'll need to stick a pin in the reset whole at the back of the unit until the horizontal LED on the front goes green. Bear in mind, you will lose any custom configuration like altered wi-fi passwords/port forwarding rules etc.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

SteveA
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,819
Thanks: 104
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎17-06-2007

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

@bobpullen - so how do we get our routers off the Ceased list? Mine has been put on it for some reason.

 

Steve

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,325
Thanks: 2,998
Fixes: 187
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

We need to manually re-populate the system at this side and you then need to factory reset your device.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

SteveA
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,819
Thanks: 104
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎17-06-2007

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

@bobpullen - let me know if you need anything from me for the data at your end.

 

 If I do a factory reset and then reload my configuration I assume things will work in future or do I need to manually rebuild my modified configuration?

 

 

Kandinsky
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-09-2017

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

@bobpullen OK, done a full factory reset as requested. It's back online again.

 

What happens now please?

Kandinsky
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-09-2017

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

@bobpullen Hi Bob, when can you push out the update please?

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,325
Thanks: 2,998
Fixes: 187
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

@Kandinsky, I can see your device now but for some reason I still can't communicate with it via our hardware management platform. This is odd because your router's definitely responding on the appropriate port.

I've sought advice from the vendor, however have another trick up my sleeve if that doesn't get us anywhere.

@SteveA, I've done the necessary this side if you want to try a factory reset. You /should/ be fine re-loading the configuration to your device afterwards.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Kandinsky
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-09-2017

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

@bobpullen Thanks Bob, I did perform a factory reset and then reloaded my saved config back into the router.  Would that have made any difference please?

 

Let me know if you need me to do anything.

Kandinsky
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-09-2017

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

@bobpullen Still no update.  Any ideas please?

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,325
Thanks: 2,998
Fixes: 187
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub One Firmware Updates

It's worth you trying a factory reset and then manually reconfiguring so we can see if it makes any difference. Let me know when this is done and I'll try again.

I'm also waiting a response from one of our vendors around what might be happening.

If we're no further forward by the end of the week then I have one last trick up my sleeve.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵