cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub One Firmware Update

southerner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 633
Thanks: 66
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎27-11-2013

Hub One Firmware Update

Hi,

Just wondered if there's a way I can update the firmware on my Hub One?

I recently added it back to my network as a WAP but I can't seem to find a way to update the firmware in the menus. Just conscious I haven't used it in a while and so the firmware will be out of date. 

11 REPLIES 11
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,758
Thanks: 5,228
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

@southerner 

Unfortunately the firmware can only be updated by Plusnet and then only if it's your main modem/router.

To be honest this firmware is so flaky then if it isn't broken my advice would be not to touch it. As it's behind your 'proper' router there should be no security concerns.

For information the latest firmware ends .263

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

MasterOfReality
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,640
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

Hi @southerner 

 

Can you log into the Hub Manager (192.168.1.254) and let us know the firmware that the Hub is currently running? 

 

Thanks, 

MoR

southerner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 633
Thanks: 66
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎27-11-2013

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

Hi @MasterOfReality
It says the following -
Plusnet Hub One | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.226 | Last updated Unknown
marcyd
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎13-11-2011

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

Mine is running Plusnet Hub One | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.263 | Last updated 27/03/19

 

Works fine as long as 5ghz is off otherwise it keeps saying "internet may not be available (yes tried any fixes i can find)

Mads
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,873
Fixes: 79
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

Hey @southerner,

Thanks for getting back to us.

I've raised that to our products team for it to be updated.

 

Thanks.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,758
Thanks: 5,228
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

@Mads 

Please can you satisfy my curiosity and confirm that it's possible for you to update the firmware on a Hub One that's configured as an Access Point and connected to a LAN behind a third party router?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,592
Thanks: 10,325
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

@southerner I'm fairly sure that the firmware you're on would suggest that your router isn't communicating with the hardware management platform correctly. Re-adding this and doing a factory reset should update the firmware. Could you PM me the serial number from the bottom of the router so I can make sure this is added on?

@Baldrick1 Not entirely sure so I'm asking our products team.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,758
Thanks: 5,228
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

@Gandalf 

The reason I ask is because the OP is using it in this mode. https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Hub-One-Firmware-Update/m-p/1679320#M14352

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,592
Thanks: 10,325
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

@Baldrick1 We'll find out definitively and we'll post back

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
southerner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 633
Thanks: 66
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎27-11-2013

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

@Gandalf & @Baldrick1 - Just to confirm I needed to make my Hub One my modem/router to get the firmware update. It updated pretty quickly as soon as I did that. The hardware management platform couldn't communicate with it when it was just a WAP.

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,592
Thanks: 10,325
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Hub One Firmware Update

Thanks for the confirmation @southerner that's good to know.

Incidentally I've received a response from our products team to advise that it'd be difficult to tell if the router would update if it was being used solely as a wireless access point, but it looks like you've confirmed this for us now Thumbs_Up

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet