cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue - problem not resolved

FIXED
mgh65
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-07-2021

Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue - problem not resolved

I have regular ( erratic more than every hour approx. ) where my router drops its WIFI or declares it has WIFI connection but no internet.

 

This was often the problem reported under the topic "Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue" that had thousands of respondents and often results in a firmware upgrade being suggested.

 

The "update your firmware " solutions never worked for me, and after several years of putting up with CAT5 cables around the rooms (because WIFI is too unreliable) I thought i'd repost to see if there were any current solutions. I cannot install wireless products such as alarms or doorbells or cameras because of this so its rapidly becoming a real problem. Consequently we dont use WIFI at all, everything is wired, but it also means our phones all have to be 4G data which seems unfair.

 

Things we can take off the table:

  • BB connection - always works fine via CAT5
  • Distance - it fails regardless of how far you are from router ( i.e 0.5m and it still drops the WIFI )
  • 2.4 or 5 Ghz channel - it fails just as well on both

 

Any ideas on a solution please ?

5 REPLIES 5
mgh65
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-07-2021

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue - problem not resolved

Another thing we can rule out is a recent change, I've just checked and I first raised this in July 2021 and was told the firmware download to fix this was imminent!

 

software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.289.1.3 | Last updated 13/12/21

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,616
Thanks: 1,273
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue - problem not resolved

@mgh65  Are you on the latest firmware see ....

https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/PN-Hub-Latest-Firmware-Versions/m-p/1864745#M31353 

The HUB1 is pretty poor, the HUB2 is supposed to have better WiFi, although you can't split the 2.4 and 5 Ghz bands so not that good. I would never use ISP supplied equipment, I spend some money to get decent kit.

mgh65
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-07-2021

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue - problem not resolved

Hi, yes,  I am on the latest firmware.

 

I understand what you are saying about it being old, and not buying ISP equipment.

 

But it used to be fine, one firmware update in 2021 broke it and many, many people have reported the same problem. So I dont really think I should have to throw it away and pay money. At the end of the day, plusnet promised me a BB router that worked, and I dont have one. Although notionally free, Its included in the price we pay per month. Plusnets "award winning" customer support wont help, they just direct me to this forum

 

Thanks for your reply, 

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,814
Thanks: 4,843
Fixes: 314
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue - problem not resolved

Fix

@mgh65 - I'll drop you a PM, however I definitely don't agree with the inference that there are many customers eperiencing problems. Yes, there was a long (and admittedly painful) period of time where 5GHz was problematic, but since the firmware fix you're one of the only customers I've come across who is stil suffering Huh

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

mgh65
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-07-2021

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue - problem not resolved

Hi Bob, yes, thank you, i phoned customer support and they have agreed to send a new hub two. That will solve the problem.

 

thank you