cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub 2 splitting WiFi bands

jenniferedge
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2021

Hub 2 splitting WiFi bands

My smart light bulb can’t connect to my new hub 2 router. I’ve tried to rename the bands but it only allows the 2.4g to rename

I’m guessing the 5 is the best to use for everything but smart appliances?

Any help greatly appreciated!
7 REPLIES 7
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,764
Thanks: 5,530
Fixes: 395
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Hub 2 splitting WiFi bands

You can't split the bands on the hub2. If you have a device that won't connect because it only supportsv2.4ghz, then temporarily disable the 5ghz, connect the device and then re-enable the 5ghz.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jenniferedge
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2021

Re: Hub 2 splitting WiFi bands

How do I do this?
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,764
Thanks: 5,530
Fixes: 395
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Hub 2 splitting WiFi bands

I don't have access to my hub2 at the moment Im  afraid. It should be in the advanced setting for wireless. There should be an option to disable hhev5ghz band

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jenniferedge
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2021

Re: Hub 2 splitting WiFi bands

Thank you!
ukguy1
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 216
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎29-06-2016

Re: Hub 2 splitting WiFi bands

If you need both you can buy a tp link extender for around £20. That shows the two networks separately.
Very handy for a connection we have at another address on full fibre 150. Only 5ghz works best above 100meg, so we connect the max upstairs to 5ghz.
£20 well spent
jenniferedge
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2021

Re: Hub 2 splitting WiFi bands

The above advice appears to have worked, I guess I don’t really understand the split to know if I need an extender. I guess the 5g one is faster?
ukguy1
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 216
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎29-06-2016

Re: Hub 2 splitting WiFi bands

2.4ghz is a stronger signal through walls hence why smart doorbells etc use it.
However, it can only reach up to about 80meg

5ghz is weaker but can reach speeds over 100meg

If you don’t need 2.4 then as above, turning it off will force devices onto 5ghz straight from the hub.
If you get any signal strength issues, then you can always add an extender.
Most 3bed semi type properties are ok.