cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

AndrewE1977
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-07-2023

Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

Hi all.

 

Seem to be having an issue connecting our Sonos speaker system to the newly installed PN Hub 2 Router.

 

All seems fine with the setup (Sonos devices are found) but when I come to enter the password for the router, it states there was a problem connecting.


The ‘More Info’ section states that Sonos products connect to both 2.4GHz & 5GHz networks. Also that most Sonos products require an 802.11b/g network. They also mention that if the router is set to ‘N only’ or ‘AC only’ to change it to B/G/N (also known as MIXED)

 

I’ve logged in to the router and been through the settings, but wasn’t able to find anything like the above to check what it’s set to. Apart from the Mode 1, Mode 2 & Mode 3 setting options (which I tried all but no joy) 

 

Any thoughts on this? 

 

Thanks in advance 

 

 

9 REPLIES 9
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,971
Thanks: 5,338
Fixes: 422
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

@AndrewE1977   Welcome to the Community forums.

For the modes see https://www.bt.com/help/broadband/what-is-the-wireless-mode-feature-on-my-bt-smart-hub-

Have you tried switching off the 5GHz band. If this works you can generally switch it back on after devices have connected.

As an aside, it is not unknown for users to use the wrong password, you are inputting the wireless one from the tab on the back of the hub?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

JohnofYork
Grafter
Posts: 73
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎03-06-2016

Re: Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

I'm getting the same issue with my new PN Hub 2 and my Sonos One speaker. Mobile app sees the speaker, sees the router. accepts the CORRECT wi-fi password and then tells me there is a problem connecting to PLUSNET-nXXnnn. Have disabled 5ghz band, to no avail.

Worked fine with my old OpenReach modem & Asus RT-N66U Router (dual band, no issue).

damned annoying.

Ronster78
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎31-10-2023

Re: Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

Hello 

 

Did you manage to get your Sonos talking to the Plusnet Router? 

I am having the same problem and have tried all suggestions with no success.. 

 

cheers

Ronnie

Ij78
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎29-09-2023

Re: Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

I have got an Era300 recently. It connects ok but the problem I’ve found is that when you try to use the Sonos app on mobile after that, because of the DualBand nature of the Hub2, it sometimes informs me that I’m not on the same network so can’t find the Sonos - probably because it’s switched to 2.4ghz or 5ghz I’m assuming as everything is connected. I hope that future iteration allows you to select which devices connect to which band. I can’t disable one or the other as I’ve got some smart devices that only use 2.4 and others which I want to use 5.
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,865
Thanks: 1,377
Fixes: 86
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

@Ij78 

It is very unlikely you have devices that will only work on 5Ghz as that would render them useless almost everywhere as some older routers and wireless access points only provide a 2.4GHz signal. Devices should be backward compatible and able to use 2.4 or 5GHhz depending on signal strength. Some newer devices prefer to use 5GHz regardless of signal strength and speed of the wireless connection.

2.4 and 5GHz provided they are using the same SSID ( wireless name) are on the same network, are you sure the Sonos App on your phone was connected to your home wireless signal?

With the Hub Two if you go to http://192.168.1.254/basic_-_my_devices.htm on a device connected to your home network you can see who's is using which wireless signal

 

Ij78
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎29-09-2023

Re: Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

It’s not that they will only work on 5ghz, its that some devices (smart plugs, lights etc) will only connect to 2.4ghz - which means I don’t won’t to disable either band. I would prefer to be able to select which device connects to which band. To answer your question - yes my phone is always connected to the router as per the Sonos system, however, it does swap automatically between 2.4/5ghz depending on where I am in the house - which is great for maintaining a connection but I am assuming that’s when I get the issue with my Sonos speaker not being able to play music as it no longer allows it until I move closer to it. It simply stops playing music if I move around the house with my phone on me - which is always connected to wifi.
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,865
Thanks: 1,377
Fixes: 86
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

Must be suffering from crossed eyes this morning 🙁, miss read about the bands.

If you want the option to connect to different signal bands the recommendation would be buy a third party which allows you to split the wireless names, you would need a xDSL router for a copper connection or router only for Full Fibre service.

I have no issues with my Hub Two with any smart devices.

Ij78
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎29-09-2023

Re: Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

No worries. Yes I’ve definitely considered a 3rd party router - have only just joined PN so see how it pans out, but generally happy enough with everything in the main.
JohnofYork
Grafter
Posts: 73
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎03-06-2016

Re: Hub 2 Router : Unable to connect to Sonos Speaker System

I reconnected my Asus RT-N66U Router as an access point, connected to one of the lan ports on the Hub 2.

Connected and worked with no further jiggery-pokery. So I have my old 'home' 2.5 & 5ghz wi-fi networks back, as well as the Plusnet one.

As a bonus I also get more lan ports on the router 😃