cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I change the usename of my router from 'admin' ?

John_GC
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-04-2019

How do I change the usename of my router from 'admin' ?

Hi for security reason I want to change the username of my router, how do I do this ?

5 REPLIES 5
pjmarsh
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 1,189
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: How do I change the usename of my router from 'admin' ?

For anyone to be able to start to answer that, they'll first need to know what router you have.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

John_GC
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-04-2019

Re: How do I change the usename of my router from 'admin' ?

I have a Plusnet Hub One.

 

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,917
Thanks: 723
Fixes: 66
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: How do I change the usename of my router from 'admin' ?

You can't change the username.

You can however change the WiFi SSID and the password you use to connect to it.

John_GC
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-04-2019

Re: How do I change the usename of my router from 'admin' ?

OK, thanks. I have already changed the password and the wireless SSID and password.

EmilyD
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,967
Thanks: 337
Fixes: 111
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: How do I change the usename of my router from 'admin' ?

Hi @John_GC,

 

Thank you for getting in touch. The Hub One's username can't be changed to anything other than "admin", I'm afraid.

 

It's possible to change the router's admin password, wireless password and the SSID. You can find more information on the router settings here.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team