cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Home Hub 6 (Smarthub) BT Wifi Status: Activating

FIXED
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 604
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Home Hub 6 (Smarthub) BT Wifi Status: Activating

Got a business HH6 running fine (thanks to all on here for the setup inf which was straightforward). The issue is that it says it is activating BT wifi on the status page and I can see no way of turning it off. It is broadcasting BT Wifi and BT Wifi X networks. Any way of turning it off / stopping it?

Thanks

P.S Technical info page says:

Active

5 REPLIES
Baldrick1
All Star
Posts: 606
Thanks: 255
Fixes: 22
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Home Hub 6 (Smarthub) BT Wifi Status: Activating

I set up a business hub yesterday and this isn't transmitting anything but the private channels. When I first switched it on it originally started by giving the Public WiFi 'activating' message which eventually switched off - I had selected No for 'Public WiFi'. What firmware are you using? Mine updated almost immediately after a factory reset to SG4B1B008102.

Are you certain that it's you that's transmitting these exclusive BT add ons and not a neighbour?

The other thing I should mention is that mine seemed to lock up on the Event Log after I had finished fiddling. I switched the router off for 5 minutes and everything recovered. Maybe I overloaded its little brain configuring it for Plusnet!

 

PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 604
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Home Hub 6 (Smarthub) BT Wifi Status: Activating

Thanks,

See my comment in other thread. I can't currently turn it off as don't have the option but hoping for a firmware upgrade to allow me to do it. It is definitely BT wifi coming from my router.

PT

Baldrick1
All Star
Posts: 606
Thanks: 255
Fixes: 22
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Home Hub 6 (Smarthub) BT Wifi Status: Activating

There's obviously something going on that we don't understand. Yours has updated the firmware to a different version. Also my status page looks quite different. I will post a screenshot tomorrow. If it were me I would do another factory reset and start again.

PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 604
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Home Hub 6 (Smarthub) BT Wifi Status: Activating

Fix

Updated overnight to SG4B1B008102. Now have public wifi 'off' button. Thumbs Up

Baldrick1
All Star
Posts: 606
Thanks: 255
Fixes: 22
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Home Hub 6 (Smarthub) BT Wifi Status: Activating

Good news. Talk about things that go bump in the night!