cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

FIXED
Martyn1978
Newbie
Posts: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎10-05-2020

Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

Hi, I am very new to plusnet (1 MONTH) and I have been experiencing  issues with speeds and poor connections, mainly due to 2 PS4, Xbox1, various phones, tablets and smart TV's all fighting for connection. After reading several articles I have purchased the above R8000 but I can not get an internet signal. I have followed the instructions verbatim to no avail. I am sure it will be something simple, however I am beaten and frustrated. Any help would be appreciated.

9 REPLIES 9
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8,292
Thanks: 3,747
Fixes: 267
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

@Martyn1978  Welcome to the forum.

The Netgear R8000 is a router, you need a combined moden/router.

You need to either get a separate modem or configure is as an access point and connect it to the Plusnet hub. If you do this switch off the Hub One wireless.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Martyn1978
Newbie
Posts: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎10-05-2020

Re: Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

Hi, thank you for the advice.  I don't really want to purchase something else. How would I configure it as an access point? I have it connected to the plusnet hub through the yellow ethernet connection. Is it as simple as just turning the  wifi off and hey presto?

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8,292
Thanks: 3,747
Fixes: 267
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

@Martyn1978 

This should help you:  https://kb.netgear.com/24104/How-do-I-change-my-Nighthawk-router-to-AP-mode-after-I-ve-already-run-s...

Apart from switching off the wireless in the advanced wireless settings no other changes are required to the Plusnet hub.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Martyn1978
Newbie
Posts: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎10-05-2020

Re: Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

Many thanks. I shall give it a go tonight. Fingers crossed!

Martyn1978
Newbie
Posts: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎10-05-2020

Re: Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

Fix

Mr Baldrick1. You are a God amongst men. All up and running. Thank you sir. 

Mook
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 851
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Re: Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

Surely then @Martyn1978 that the Fix should go to @Baldrick1 if it were his efforts that resolved this for you. Wink

sarge1972
Interested
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎28-07-2020

Re: Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

When I switch off the WiFi on the one hub and the follow the setup on the app, it will not find the internet on the router. The symbol is red. How can I get the internet connected and then set router to AP?

 

i have ordered a HG612 3b to get around all this but it will not be here for day. Is that simply disconnect to one hub and connect the HG612 and then connect to router?

 

any help please not very technical when it comes to things like this.

198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,519
Thanks: 2,430
Fixes: 36
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

@sarge1972 Welcome to the forum.  🙂

You've tacked onto an old thread, which is labelled as 'fixed', about a different type of router.

For better visibility it would be advisable to start your own topic on this board.

If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,713
Thanks: 3,451
Fixes: 218
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Help with my netgear R8000 nighthawk router

Replied over here.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵