cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with fibre WIFI

jess2310
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 02-10-2017

Help with fibre WIFI

We have upgraded to fibre, our wired speeds are upwards of 70mbps which is perfect.

However our  WIFI speeds are around 10-11 if we're lucky.

 

I've followed the steps of splitting the 2.4ghz and 5ghz, and changed the channels. 

There is only one small half wall between the router and the living room where we use our wireless devices.

What else can we do?

12 REPLIES
Baldrick1
Pro
Posts: 250
Thanks: 84
Fixes: 9
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

This could be a faulty router. Assuming you have a modern mobile phone download a free app such as 'WiFi Analyser'. This will show the output of your router along with your neighbours. You can also check that the channel you are using is not the same as that used by neighbours and if necessary select a different channel.

To give you a clue to the sort of signal level you might expect from the router my BT Home Hub 6 gives me around -60 to -50dbm on both the 2.4 and 5 GHz channels when measured in the next room.

jess2310
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 02-10-2017

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

Its between -70 and -65, im about 20ft away from the router with a small half wall inbetween, its not even solid brick.

jess2310
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 02-10-2017

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

Another 2ft away and its -80

Baldrick1
Pro
Posts: 250
Thanks: 84
Fixes: 9
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

That's not too bad. You should be still getting reasonable wi fi speeds. How are you measuring the speed? 

jess2310
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 02-10-2017

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

Just with an online speed checker. Its definitely slower than it should be,it was faster than this when we just had adsl. 

Baldrick1
Pro
Posts: 250
Thanks: 84
Fixes: 9
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

Is WiFi Analyser showing any neighbours using the same channel?

jess2310
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 02-10-2017

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

No, it's just us on channel 6
Baldrick1
Pro
Posts: 250
Thanks: 84
Fixes: 9
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

I'm afraid you've got me stumped!

The only other suggestions I can make is to try other speed testers in case the one you are using has issues. I always get different results from say Ookla and Think Broadband testers. The other thing, if possible, is to try different wireless devices. I get vastly different results between a Windows Laptop and Ipads on my wireless connection when placed in turn in the same position and using the same test site; each show a good signal level.

southerner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 503
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 1
Registered: 27-11-2013

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

Are you able to move the router around to see if that improves things?

 

-60 to -40 would be optimal 

-60 to -85 would be acceptable

-85 downwards would be poor

jess2310
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 02-10-2017

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

We're getting very similar readings on all different speed testers. I can't move the router as theres no other sockets for it. Just seems daft to pay for 74 when the most i can get is around 12. Im not sure what else to try really.

jess2310
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 02-10-2017

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

Ive aslso got full signal on all my devices. I can't understand it, there cant be a fault with the line or anything because our wired speeds are perfect. As with most people now though, most of my devices are wireless so that doesnt really help me much.

Baldrick1
Pro
Posts: 250
Thanks: 84
Fixes: 9
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Help with fibre WIFI

Do you get the same results if you test with a different wireless device?