cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help configuring my own router?

chturne

Help configuring my own router?

I have spent the whole day trying to figure out what magical configuration I need to make OpenWRT work with plusnet DSL with a tp-link ac1750 router. I am new to networking but want to learn, hence why I'm replacing the opaque plastic box with a decent router that I've flashed the latest release of OpenWRT onto.

I found some information on how to configure ADSL here: https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/wan/isp-configurations#adsl2  but it "doesn't work", in fact, adding this bricks the interfaces in OpenWRT.

According the specs of my router (https://www.tp-link.com/uk/home-networking/wifi-router/archer-c7/?utm_medium=select-local#specificat...) the default firmware only supports Dynamic IP/Static IP/PPPoE/
PPTP(Dual Access)/L2TP(Dual Access)/BigPond as WAN types, since PPPoA is not there, does it mean I'm doomed?

Does anyone have a working configuration / advice? I've read many posts on this forum, but all in vein. The most interesting were the people who actually "rooted" the Plusnet provided hubs and got OpenWRT running there. I'm just trying to have a more configurable home network to learn with, I don't want to buy any soldering irons just yet 🙂

I've attached a picture of my wall socket, I found some people posting that these types of sockets are bad news. I don't know if it's relevant. I had no idea there was so much tech in that boring looking wall socket...

9 REPLIES 9
dvorak
Fixes: 1,482

Re: Help configuring my own router?

Moderators Note

This topic has been moved from ADSL Broadband to My Router 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
DaveyH
Champion
Fixes: 12

What are you connecting the router to?

Since it doesn't include a xDSL modem and only has a Etnernet WAN connection (generally referred as a 'cable router')