cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HG612 in router mode

davel8r
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎26-05-2020

HG612 in router mode

Has anyone used an unlocked HG612 in router mode with BT Home Discs? There's no need for any ethernet connections as everything in the house is connected by wifi.

Any experiences/problems/gotchas gratefully received

thanks

8 REPLIES 8
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,039
Thanks: 2,671
Fixes: 179
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: HG612 in router mode

@davel8r 

I’ve never tried it but if you have an ex BT modem you will need  to unlock it. The following might be of interest https://mega.nz/folder/LdJFDIJL#e_E1twsIg2kTet8mPjrb4w You need the xxxxx08 firmware and https://forums.thinkbroadband.com/fibre/4109217-huawei-hg612-working-as-a-router.html?fpart=all

davel8r
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎26-05-2020

Re: HG612 in router mode

thanks @Baldrick1 

I'm using an unlocked HG612 in my own setup with an ASUS RTAC86U. It's rock solid and the ASUS is a real workhorse

This new setup is for my son who doesn't have the funds for a new ASUS router but already has the BT WiFi discs. He's using the PS hub with the discs but the speeds are pretty dire - he's a looooong way from the green box! 

I've got hold of another HG612 so had planned on using that with the discs and removing the PS hub from the equation. Perhaps I'll just give it a go - but it's nice to hear anybody else's experiences

Thanks for replying

Cheers

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,817
Thanks: 4,493
Fixes: 1,142
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: HG612 in router mode

If you're talking about the whole home wifi discs then you can't do what you want.
They need to be plugged into a router, they are only a WiFi mesh network with no router capabilities.

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,039
Thanks: 2,671
Fixes: 179
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: HG612 in router mode

@dvorak 

My reading is that the HG612 is in fact a modem/router, it just needs unlocking, see my links above.

@davel8r 

It's debateable if this will lead to any improvement in speed over the PN Hub plus disks (I assume that the wireless is switched off on the Hub?). If the speed is low when connected to the PN Hub via an Ethernet cable then there will be no improvement on this whatever you do wireless wise.

davel8r
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎26-05-2020

Re: HG612 in router mode

Thanks @dvorak 

My question is about using the HG612 in router mode.

Cheers

davel8r
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎26-05-2020

Re: HG612 in router mode

@Baldrick1 

It's a bit of a shot in the dark as my experience with the HG612 is that it's rock solid and holds on to a good synch speed. I'll give it a go (maybe 🙂 ) and report back. Guess I've got too much time on my hands........

All the best

npr
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,872
Thanks: 107
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: HG612 in router mode

This show how to set up the HG612 as a router.

https://web.archive.org/web/20160331112537/http://npr.me.uk/hg612.html

Can't help with the BT Home Disks.

davel8r
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎26-05-2020

Re: HG612 in router mode

@npr 

Thanks.

I went ahead and set it up as a router and connected it to the discs. It worked ok. I did read on another forum (can't remember where) that it runs out of ooomph when processing some of the higher speeds that we're getting so I think I'll abandon this little exercise.

Thanks everyone for your input

Dave