cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Got my new router delivered and connected - Issues

Hanxbear1
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-12-2019

Got my new router delivered and connected - Issues

 

I connected up my new Plusnet router - all other devices now connect to the wifi, but when I try to use for my Windows PC I constantly get 

"Wifi" doesn't have a valid IP configuration

The default gateway is not available

 

What else do I need to do?

 

8 REPLIES 8
Hanxbear1
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-12-2019

Re: Got my new router delivered and connected - Issues

I noticed when I got fibre installed for the first time that there was a BT Openreach box included which the cable from the phone line was plugged into and then a cable from that box into my old router.  But the new Hub one doesn't show this box anywhere on the installation instructions - Is this now redundant and should I cable from the phone line direct to the router?

daveplus
Pro
Posts: 558
Thanks: 122
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-08-2010

Re: Got my new router delivered and connected - Issues

Hi @Hanxbear1 

Yes, the phone cable plugs into the Plusnet Hub DSL socket..

Did you follow the install instructions exactly as set out in the booklet that is in the Hub box?

If you didn't then you should do a factory reset and start again

Dave

Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,205
Thanks: 3,227
Fixes: 495
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Got my new router delivered and connected - Issues

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from Fibre Broadband to My Router.

 

 

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 86.0 (64-bit)

Hanxbear1
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-12-2019

Re: Got my new router delivered and connected - Issues

 

Thanks, but any idea what that box is?

jgb
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 538
Thanks: 360
Fixes: 14
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Got my new router delivered and connected - Issues

@Hanxbear1 

Do you mean a box like one of these?

https://www.bt.com/help/broadband/buttons-and-sockets-on-the-openreach-fibre-modem

As it says this is a modem. The Plusnet Hub 1 is a combined modem and route and so the BT box is not needed.

Hanxbear1
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-12-2019

Re: Got my new router delivered and connected - Issues

Thanks jgb - yes it is...….  That's brilliant, thanks for the confirmation.

One more qq, do I still need to do a factory reset, or can I just take the plug out and plug the phone straight into my Hub 1?

daveplus
Pro
Posts: 558
Thanks: 122
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-08-2010

Re: Got my new router delivered and connected - Issues

@Hanxbear1 

The telephone cable should be connected directly into the socket which has "DSL" directly above it.

You probably will need a reset and RTFM!

Dave

Hanxbear1
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-12-2019

Re: Got my new router delivered and connected - Issues

Thanks - RTFM?