cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Firmware update TG582N

MaxwellParker
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 13-11-2017

Firmware update TG582N

I've been trying to find an update for the firmware using windows 10. Seems they all want windows 7, is there any help anyone could give me please.

I'm hoping this could speed up my internet which is woefully under par 

7 REPLIES
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 805
Thanks: 104
Fixes: 20
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Firmware update TG582N

 

 

imho, updating the firmware is unlikely to speed up your internet connection.

 

Is performance better with devices wired directly into the TG582n router instead of using wifi ?

If yes, it could be you are suffering from wifi interference or router is faulty.

 

This thread mentions using XP SP3 compatibility mode in Windows 10 on two files to successfully install the firmware update if required.

 

https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/technicolor-tg582n-router-update/td-p/1297850

 

MaxwellParker
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 13-11-2017

Re: Firmware update TG582N

Good to know.

I have my PS4 wired in and PC is wireless. Both getting 7mbs of down speed but my router is telling me I can get 65.
Performance isn't better wired my PS4 will drop me in 6/10 sessions despite Nat2 and the wireless connection drops signal a ton.

I've changed channels to try and avoid interference made sure it's placements is strong, opened ports all sorts. I'm running short of ideas.
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,522
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 35
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Firmware update TG582N

Is that 7 mb/s or 7 MB/s? (the capitalisation is important!)

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
MaxwellParker
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 13-11-2017

Re: Firmware update TG582N

Actual speed in the gateway says 65 Mbps and a speed test is telling me 7.4 Mbps.
bmc
Pro
Posts: 433
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 3
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: Firmware update TG582N

First thing to check is what is your line capable of.

http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome

 

Brian

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 805
Thanks: 104
Fixes: 20
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Firmware update TG582N

Are you on ADSL or fibre broadband?

Thinking about it, the TG582n on fibre cannot report fibre broadband line speed from the separately connected Openreach VDSL2 modem, so you must be on upto 17mb ADSL broadband service?

Are you sure you didn't perhaps misread what was reported by your TG582N.  eg. actually 6.5 mbps not 65 mbps?

Only other thought is 65mbps could be wireless speed between TG582n and your wifi device.

Run the wholesale speedtester, and complete the 'Further Diagnostics' after the basic speed test is completed.

http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/

Report back with downstream and IP profile

Example:

0ipProfile.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

RPMozley
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,067
Thanks: 21
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-11-2011

Re: Firmware update TG582N

I think you will find the tg582n report of 65 Mbps is for the wireless speed, not your internet speed. For that you need to look in the Broadband > Connection area of the interface.