cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

_Ext SSID as well?

FIXED
swrzzzz
Hooked
Posts: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎22-03-2020

_Ext SSID as well?

Hi

Can anyone tell me why my router is putting out two SSID? I can see SSID and SSID_Ext? Both go off when I power off the router and there are no extenders in the house. The SSID_Ext signal is weaker than the SSID  one.

It's wierd

Thanks

Steve

 

5 REPLIES 5
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,318
Thanks: 2,485
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: _Ext SSID as well?

@swrzzzz A picture paints a thousand words.😀

Where are you seeing this - and a screenshot - obscuring any personal information - would be good?

John
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,514
Thanks: 2,938
Fixes: 191
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: _Ext SSID as well?

@swrzzzz 

If you are sure that you have no range extender plugged in you probably have a connected device that has it’s own web server/extender built in. These sometimes are used for remote control. Try switching all your wireless devices off one at a time and see if it disappears.

Champnet
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,735
Thanks: 570
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: _Ext SSID as well?

@swrzzzz  Have you tried connecting to "SSID_Ext" if so is it your network. 

It's possible a neighbour has plugged in an AP which has inadvertently connected to your router. 

swrzzzz
Hooked
Posts: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎22-03-2020

Re: _Ext SSID as well?

Thanks for all the great replies, I can connect to to and use it  so it had to be something I put a WPA key into.

I went round the house with a wifi tracking app on my phone and turning things on and off and it turns out to be our Sony Bravia tv and only on 2.4Ghz

Problem solved there then, but the family complain of wifi issues and it is using the same channel as my router which is only 3 meters away.

They must be interfering with each other surely?

If anyone has worked out how to turn this off I would be very grateful

Regards

Steve

 

 

swrzzzz
Hooked
Posts: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎22-03-2020

Re: _Ext SSID as well?

Fix

Solved and I owe Sony an apology - it was nothing to do with the TV - it was all about me being an idiot.

I found I had left a PLX-Link wifi to ethernet converter plugged in. I had tried to make youview work with it. I was still plugged in out of sight under the tv. (we had given up and fitted a cabIe) -  I had forgotten I even owned one so when I turned the tv mains block off of course the signal went too.

 

As well as doing wifi to lan conversion it was obviously also being a 2.4g extender.

 

It's gone!