cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does this router work with plusnet?

wolfheart
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎19-01-2019

Does this router work with plusnet?

Hi,

Once i get my broadband connection details I am thinking of getting this :- https://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/computing-accessories/networking/network-routers-and-switches/routers...

 

I was wondering will I have any problems connecting to plusnet with it pleas?

Thank You

Wolfheart

 

10 REPLIES 10
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,721
Thanks: 644
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Does this router work with plusnet?

It's a cable router, so you would need a modem to work on PN.

wolfheart
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎19-01-2019

Re: Does this router work with plusnet?

Hi,

 

Thank you, can you recommend a decent router with moden for plusnet for streaming and playing games please?

Thank You

Wolfheart

RichardB
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 849
Thanks: 274
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Does this router work with plusnet?

Hi wolfheart,

There  is a list of VDSL  routers on the Kitz forum.

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14436.0.html

 

General advice is not use a MediakTek chipset for modem function, they seem to have issues working with OpenReach's equipment. If you want to use a MediakTek device buy a separate modem.

The best chipsets for VDSL speed and stability are reputed to the broadcom chipset (BCM on the Kitz forum), followed by the Lantiq chipset.

Regards

Richard

 

 

wolfheart
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎19-01-2019

Re: Does this router work with plusnet?

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,565
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Does this router work with plusnet?

The chipset in the router doesn't matter, it's the chipset in the modem that can make a difference.
Ex-Plusnetter now living life in the G,fast lane!
wolfheart
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎19-01-2019

Re: Does this router work with plusnet?

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,565
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Does this router work with plusnet?

Lantiq VRX200 series.

Linky.

Ex-Plusnetter now living life in the G,fast lane!
wolfheart
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎19-01-2019

Re: Does this router work with plusnet?

Hi,

 

Thank you, I  want a tri-band and one that is really good for gaming and streaming as we have many devices (ps4, xbox one, 3 Desk top Pc's and 5 laptops.

Wolfheart

 

 

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,500
Thanks: 5,106
Fixes: 1,290
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Does this router work with plusnet?


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,026
Thanks: 3,130
Fixes: 214
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Does this router work with plusnet?

It sounds to me that you would do better if you started by installing a Cat 5e Ethernet cable network to as many devices as possible before worrying about doing it all with a single top of the range router plus seperate modem. Ethernet cable will always be more reliable and should work out much cheaper even if you use the odd local wireless access point for wireless devices.

At the end of the day no matter what you spend nothing is going to improve the speed and latency of your connection from the BT fibre cabinet, which has to be shared by all these devices.