cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DoS attack: STORM

hansifan
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 10-03-2017

DoS attack: STORM

Hi,

I am getting several of these in my Netgear R6250 routers' log file, the IP address is my PlusNet Technicolor modem

 

===

[DoS attack: STORM] attack packets in last 20 sec from ip [192.168.1.254], Wednesday, Mar 22,2017 23:10:46
[DoS attack: STORM] attack packets in last 20 sec from ip [192.168.1.254], Wednesday, Mar 22,2017 23:10:24
[DoS attack: STORM] attack packets in last 20 sec from ip [192.168.1.254], Wednesday, Mar 22,2017 23:10:03
[DoS attack: STORM] attack packets in last 20 sec from ip [192.168.1.254], Wednesday, Mar 22,2017 23:09:31
[DoS attack: STORM] attack packets in last 20 sec from ip [192.168.1.254], Wednesday, Mar 22,2017 23:09:10
[DoS attack: STORM] attack packets in last 20 sec from ip [192.168.1.254], Wednesday, Mar 22,2017 23:08:49
[DoS attack: STORM] attack packets in last 20 sec from ip [192.168.1.254], Wednesday, Mar 22,2017 23:02:17
[DoS attack: STORM] attack packets in last 20 sec from ip [192.168.1.254], Wednesday, Mar 22,2017 23:01:55
[DoS attack: STORM] attack packets in last 20 sec from ip [192.168.1.254], Wednesday, Mar 22,2017 23:01:34

 

 

===

Usually, (though not in this case), the broadand LED on the Technicolor turns red, I lose internet access and I can't log into its admin page, so I have to reboot it. Sometimes it takes two or three attempts to successfully re-connect.

It is getting more regular, (4 times this week) since from the early hours of Sunday morning.

 

I have the WiFi on the Technicolor disabled, as I use the WiFi on my Netgear router. So the only thing connected to the Technicolor is the Netgear Router via Ethernet.

 

2 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,144
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: DoS attack: STORM

Not sure what logs are available on the Technicolor, but the attacks will be coming into it from the internet and it would appear are being passed through to the Netgear. 

Do you have a fixed "IP" ? If not you could try switching it off for half an hour and see if you get a new one.

Cant share the link at the moment but it would be worth doing a shields up scan to see if you have any open ports.

hansifan
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 10-03-2017

Re: DoS attack: STORM

Hi,

It did it again tonight.

I made an error in original post, it is not the broadband LED changes to red, it is the internet LED.

I haven't tried switching the Technicolor of for half an hour yet. I'll try that the next time it happens.