cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do PlusNet supply a VDSL modem instead of a Hub One router?

d8smt
Rising Star
Posts: 61
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎28-07-2016

Do PlusNet supply a VDSL modem instead of a Hub One router?

Title says it all really. Having so many problems with the HubOnes on my connection, particularly on the latest firmware, if I decide to renew my contract can PN supply just a VDSL modem only solution instead of a HubOne router so I can put a decent router for Wifi access in the home?

 

thx

 

Dave

5 REPLIES 5
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,854
Thanks: 852
Fixes: 82
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Do PlusNet supply a VDSL modem instead of a Hub One router?

No. Plusnet will only supply the Hub One.

You are better off buying your own equipment. Then you have a choice over all the parts.

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,566
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Do PlusNet supply a VDSL modem instead of a Hub One router?

^
Wot he said.
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8,303
Thanks: 3,754
Fixes: 269
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Do PlusNet supply a VDSL modem instead of a Hub One router?

Get a Huawei HG612 Model 3B off Ebay for around £10. These work very well and can be easily unlocked to get full stats. See https://kitz.co.uk/routers/hg612unlock.htm

Alternatively keep the Hub One, turn off the wireless on it and buy either a Wireless Access Point or a router that can be configured as a WAP.

Edit. One final thought, you could always spend £20-39 again on Ebay ang get a BT Smarthub 6. A lot of us use them on our Plusnet account and find them to be trouble free and have excellent wireless coverage.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Marksfish
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 269
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: Do PlusNet supply a VDSL modem instead of a Hub One router?

Don't know where you are, but if anywhere near the SG19 1 postcode area, I have one you can have. Not willing to post though as it hasn't been used for several years and whilst working when removed, no guarantees now.

Mark

d8smt
Rising Star
Posts: 61
Thanks: 14
Registered: ‎28-07-2016

Re: Do PlusNet supply a VDSL modem instead of a Hub One router?

Mark,

 

Offer is much appreciated but I'm quite a way from you.

 

cheers

 

dAve