cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Device names in Plusnet Hub One Manager

FIXED
SarahT
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 11-04-2018

Device names in Plusnet Hub One Manager

Hi Does anyone know if its possible to rename a device in the Hub Manager? My problem is my son and husband both have the same phone and when I try to restrict my son's phone's access it blocks my husbands too because both phones have the same name.

Thank you

5 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,697
Thanks: 1,951
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Device names in Plusnet Hub One Manager

Moderators Note.

Moved to 'my router' from the fibre board.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Dan_the_Van
Rising Star
Posts: 329
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 25-06-2007

Re: Device names in Plusnet Hub One Manager

Fix

Hello,

It maybe easier to rename the phone,

Samsung Android phone take a look in 'Settings >About phone >Device name'

iPhone 'Settings >General >About >Name'

 

Hope this helps

Dan.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,697
Thanks: 1,951
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Device names in Plusnet Hub One Manager

It can be done in the router, though the above suggestion is perhaps a better one.

Under 'advanced settings > home network > devices

click a phone and then you'll see 'Network Name' which you can change.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

SarahT
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 11-04-2018

Re: Device names in Plusnet Hub One Manager

Thank you. This has worked well.

SarahT
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 11-04-2018

Re: Device names in Plusnet Hub One Manager

Thank you. Did use the mobile naming suggestion, but useful to know there is another way too.