cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting Toshiba 32L3753DB to Technicolor TG582n

FIXED
Wuz
Rising Star
Posts: 141
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Connecting Toshiba 32L3753DB to Technicolor TG582n

Bought a Toshiba 32L3753db and it keeps dropping out. I have never used Telenet!

The TV shows IP address 192.168.001.066

Subnet Mask 255.255.255.000

Default Gateway 192.168.001.254

DNS 192.168.001.254

I read the guide below but it does't mention Windows !0

I run everything fibre wireless as the Huawei EchoLife and Techniclor TG582N are in the roof space.

Is it as difficult as I think it is? Any advice.

Current intention is to use Chat for the first time ever on Monday

PC and laptop and son's Xbox all connect OK. Just the TV!!

https://community.plus.net/t5/Library/How-to-change-the-default-DNS-Servers-in-a-Thomson-Router/ba-p...

Thanks in advance for any guidance

Wuz

5 REPLIES
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 867
Thanks: 124
Fixes: 24
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Connecting Toshiba 32L3753DB to Technicolor TG582n

The settings on the TV look fine.

 

Quick google suggests the wifi on the Toshiba is not great

https://forum.toshiba.eu/showthread.php?98008-32L3753DB-freezing&s=a44636f4205cf87ccea4404dd024a1ce

 

https://forum.toshiba.eu/showthread.php?97749-Toshiba-32L3753DB-cannot-connect-to-internet

 

You haven't mentioned whether you have ADSL or fibre.

In any case, I would suggest trying a pair of regular powerline adapters.  Connect one to the router.  Connect the second one to the TV's ethernet socket and see if powerline works well across your mains wiring and electrical consumer unit.

Alternatively, you could also try putting a wifi extender mid way between the router and your TV.  eg. router in roof space, extender on first floor, and TV on ground floor.  A wired solution is always better than using wifi imho.

Wuz
Rising Star
Posts: 141
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Connecting Toshiba 32L3753DB to Technicolor TG582n

Thanks bill888,

I mentioned fibre in the middle.

It shows 60% 3 bars and 15mps  connection.

The router is just a ceiling away but I believe the two electrical circuits are well apart and both have long runs to the power supply.

I should be able to move the router to the hatch and move the TV temorarily near enough to the hatch to try it wired, Then get a pair of  powerline adapters and see how I get on with them,  Any recommendations as to adaptor make/model?

 

Thanks again for your help.

 

Wuz

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 867
Thanks: 124
Fixes: 24
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Connecting Toshiba 32L3753DB to Technicolor TG582n

Apologies for overlooking you had mentioned you have fibre.

Here's another idea, if you were to use a longer ethernet cable between the Huawei fibre modem and the TG582n, will your TV's wifi perform  better if you locate the router directly above it?   

I presume drilling a hole through the ceiling to directly wire the TG582n to the TV, or to move the TG582n downstairs is out of the question.

 

TPlink are popular.  I recommend buying from a retailer with good returns policy if you encounter problems in the first 30 days. 

Note that powerline adapters some times might not work well if they are plugged into a long extension cable.

Also it is possible for adapters to some times become unpaired, which would mean having to climb into the roof space to retrieve and pair up the adapters again.

 

 

 

Wuz
Rising Star
Posts: 141
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Connecting Toshiba 32L3753DB to Technicolor TG582n

Fix

bill888,

 

Will be going through the hatch later today and will try to get it as close to above the TV as possible,

A hole wouldn't be possible. Will report back later

 

Thanks Again

 

Wuz

Wuz
Rising Star
Posts: 141
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Connecting Toshiba 32L3753DB to Technicolor TG582n

bill888,

Just to add - it developed a problem of rebooting even when not connected to the internet so is being returned!

Thanks for your help.

Wuz