cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bridge mode

CShep
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-07-2020

Bridge mode

I’ve purchase a mesh router system due to having so many wifi dead-spots in my house and I need to switch my plusnet router into a modem only mode. I’ve logged into the admin portal but can’t see a bridge mode setting. Does anyone know how I do this? All the posts I can find seem to be a few years old so I’m not sure if they are current or not. Many thanks
Tags (3)
8 REPLIES 8
DaveyH
Champion
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 466
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎15-11-2012

Re: Bridge mode

You can't, the Plusnet Hub One doesn't support bridge mode.

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,020
Thanks: 2,661
Fixes: 179
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Bridge mode

@CShep 

A good budget solution is to replace your hub with a model 3B Huawei HG312 modem from an auction site such as Ebay. They can be unlocked if you wish to monitor your dsl statistics 

CShep
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-07-2020

Re: Bridge mode

Thanks so much to both of you for your help. That helps answer that one!

@Baldrick1 Thanks very much for the suggestion of the alternative modem, I’ll take a look!
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,020
Thanks: 2,661
Fixes: 179
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Bridge mode

@CShep 

Sorry there's a typo in my post it should read HG612.

CShep
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-07-2020

Re: Bridge mode

Ah fab thanks I’ve just found it. Silly question, but if I replace my plusnet router with this modem, does that then need to be put into bridge mode or would this come in that set up (excuse my ignorance I’m not really sure of the difference between a router and a modem) thanks for ur help
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,020
Thanks: 2,661
Fixes: 179
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Bridge mode

@CShep 

Unless it's been moded you don't need to do anything with it except plug it in and connect the DSL and WAN leads.

Very basically the modem converts the multi frequency broadband coming from the fibre cabinet back into a digital data stream. The router distributes that data to your connected devices.

CShep
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-07-2020

Re: Bridge mode

Thank you so much! I’ll order one now. I really appreciate all of ur help, u r a star!
bill888
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,079
Thanks: 184
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Bridge mode