cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Home Hub 6 - firmware updates

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

BT Home Hub 6 - firmware updates

If I use a BT Home Hub 6 on my Plusnet account, is it possible to download firmware updates for the router? If so, how?

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,714
Thanks: 5,567
Fixes: 943
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: BT Home Hub 6 - firmware updates

Hi @garywood84 

Unfortunately we can’t arrange for the firmware in BT routers to be updated however from what I’ve read to happen I believe that BT will update the firmware automatically when one is available although I wouldn’t quote me on that. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 331
Thanks: 117
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎07-04-2016

Re: BT Home Hub 6 - firmware updates

The Bt Smart Hub and BT Smart Hub2 both received the latest updates when connected to plusnet.

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: BT Home Hub 6 - firmware updates

@LifeonMars 

Perfect - thanks mate. I may try and obtain a HH6 via ebay to provide an interim solution whilst we push Plusnet to find a proper resolution to this.

 

Highlighted
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,316
Thanks: 2,355
Fixes: 159
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: BT Home Hub 6 - firmware updates

@garywood84 

Why only an interim solution? The Smarthub 6 is superior to a Hub One, which under the ugly case is an old BT Home Hub 5a with tweeked firmware.

Don't waste your time with the Hub One. Plusnet is a budget ISP and this is reflected in the hardware that they supply.

 

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: BT Home Hub 6 - firmware updates

@Baldrick1 

For four reasons, mainly.

First, because the Hub One has worked well for me for the last 3 years. I tried it as a temporary measure when my Netgear router broke, and intended it only to be until I got another Netgear device. But I found that it worked fine, and so I saved money on buying a new router.

Second, because using PN hardware is preferable if a fault arises, because it's definitely not my kit in that context.

Third, because the PN router doesn't have a BT logo on the front.

Fourth, and perhaps most importantly, because it's important that we still push Plusnet to find a resolution to this problem. It's affecting a lot of people, and if those of us who are able to switch to different kit stop pushing for a solution, those who can't do that for whatever reason can't make as big a fuss.

 

Out of interest, though why do you think the Home Hub 6 is superior? 

Highlighted
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,316
Thanks: 2,355
Fixes: 159
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: BT Home Hub 6 - firmware updates


@garywood84 wrote:

@Baldrick1 

Out of interest, though why do you think the Home Hub 6 is superior? 


1. As far as I am aware it does not suffer from all the current Hub One wireless problems

2. See here for a comparison of wireless performance between the two:  https://www.businessdirect.bt.com/content/uni2/documentation/c6nx/bt_smart_hub_test_report.pdf

3. It does not suffer from the Hub One noise problems.

4. The case is far more attractive than the garish pink footed Hub One, I have no problem with the BT logo.

5. You can dim/switch off the bright blue light.

6. If you get a Business version you have more settings available. For example you can choose the DNS server to use.

I commend your determination to press Plusnet for a solution to whichever of the current Hub One problems you are seeking to get resolved and I wish you all the best with influencing Plusnet/BT (the core firmware is the same as is used on the HH5).

 

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎24-04-2020

Re: BT Home Hub 6 - firmware updates

Hi i have been using hub6 a for the last week on Plus net and it has worked great  slightly better all round performance, on the 22nd it undated firmware to SG4B1000E020 and everything has ground to halt download about 1/5mb upload nonexistent  any idea whats going on I could not post a new thread as im new i suppose 

I have reverted back to the little PN hub which is pretty basic thing but at least im working again 

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎24-04-2020

Re: BT Home Hub 6 - firmware updates

Hi

 

I have ben using a BT Hub 6A for just over a week worked great uploads wear a little better and generally better all round than your little thomson, on the 22nd this month it did a firm weir upgrade to SG4B1000E020 now it barely works lucky to get 1.5/3 mb upload nothing

I am running PN ADSL line as where i am I cant get anything better. 

Any thoughts