cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Authentication error when for third Party Router

kels110
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2019

Authentication error when for third Party Router

Can anyone help ? just joined Plusnet a week ago and what to configure my Netgear Modem DM200 ( just as I have done for previous ISP in the past with no problem)  All settings are correct and username is xxxx@plustdsl.net and password is same as my account ( which I can log into no problem ) however keeps saying incorrect ISP username or password  ....Ive contacted tech support  and they have't really helped....anyone got any ideas or possible solutions 

16 REPLIES 16
MasterOfReality
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,639
Thanks: 275
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

Hi @kels110 

 

Welcome to the forums! 

 username is xxxx@plustdsl.net 

I assume that's a typo and you meant @plusdsl.net ? 

 

Thanks,

MoR

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team
kels110
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2019

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

Yes indeed thats what I meant and I have been entering xxxx@plusdsl.net 

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,349
Thanks: 5,963
Fixes: 997
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

That's odd, can you post up some screenshots showing the settings you're inputting when trying to connect? (Make sure you hide any sensitive information like your username etc)

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,829
Thanks: 4,494
Fixes: 1,142
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
kels110
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2019

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

this is the current configuration I am using 

Country: UK
ISP: PlusNet
VLANID’ value defaulted to ‘101’
Encapsulation: PPPoE
Login: Plusnet username followed by @plusdsl.net.
Account Password
Then error occurs

kels110
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2019

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

Previous ISP had automatic authentication enabled so this meant only unername was required and no password  and  worked perfectly !!! 

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,349
Thanks: 5,963
Fixes: 997
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

Ah fair, thanks for the update.

Does this mean your 3rd party router is now working as you'd expect?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
kels110
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2019

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

No it is not working as per my original post ...  keeps on saying "incorrect username or password" when I entered them correctly

EmilyD
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,959
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 110
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

Hi @kels110,

 

Thank you for confirming that and I'm sorry for any inconvenience that this is causing you.

 

Although you've confirmed that you've been entering the correct details, I'd recommend that you reset the account password via the reset tool here  and then try to set up the new router again. If it still won't accept the details, I'd recommend that you contact the router's manufacturer as they will be able to advise you of further troubleshooting steps.

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
kels110
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2019

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

Its not password issue I know my password and no need to contact the manufacturer. I simply cloned the MAC ID from the plustnet router and added it to my third party setting and it works 100%. if you Plusnet really want to help other who may encounter this issue then include this in your help tips !!!

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,837
Thanks: 2,426
Fixes: 164
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

Our authentication servers care nothing for the MAC address of the connecting device, so I have no idea why what you did would have helped.

It's definitely not something we need in our help tips.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

kels110
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2019

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

Well looked around and found that solution and works 100% for me....so thanks to plusnet I use my own router which I have now configured now and and I'm not restricted by plusnet s mass produced cheap router
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,412
Thanks: 532
Fixes: 53
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

So it would be very easy to change the mac address back again and see what results you get.

There are loads of people using BT Homehubs and other routers on PN, without issue - I used a BT HH5 and a Netgear D7000 without a problem. 

kels110
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2019

Re: Authentication error when for third Party Router

No need for me to experiment