cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

FIXED
Malcolmm80
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎21-04-2020

Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

Hello. Can anyone help. I’ve purchased a Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 mesh system but cannot get it connected to the Plusnet One Hub via wan.

We have really bad WiFi drop outs in my house so hoping to have this system to help.

Any help getting this set up would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

11 REPLIES 11
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,278
Thanks: 2,299
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

Try setting the asus to 'access point mode' ( manual page 85 ) . Then connect itscwan port to a lan port on the hub one. Might be useful to disable thevwifi on the hub one to prevent any interference

Malcolmm80
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎21-04-2020

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

Hi there is only 12 pages in the manual. Tried to use it as an AP but it just crashes.

Might need to replace the hub one so we can use the WAN.

Any suggestions on a good router that can then connect to this.
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,278
Thanks: 2,299
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

I downloaded the manual from here https://www.asus.com/uk/Networking/RT-AX92U/HelpDesk_Manual/ it's 156 pages.

If you want to use the Asus as a true router then you need a VDSL modem connected to its WAN port. You could pick up a used Openreach HG612 from ebay.

If you want a new option then look at the Netgear DM200 or the TP link 9970 configured in bridge mode

Malcolmm80
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎21-04-2020

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

That is for your help

Is it the 2b or 3b version I should get Openreach HG612
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,278
Thanks: 2,299
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

Im no expert on the Hg612 Im afraid but AFAIK the 3b is the better one if you can get it.

I believe the 2b had a slightly poorer power supply https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=14129.0

Malcolmm80
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎21-04-2020

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

No problem.

Can anyone help out. I have purchased the openreach router HG612. It’s arrived but doing what online videos say doesn’t work

What I need is an idiots guide to hook up the HG612 and then my ASUs rt-ax92u wireless ax6100 mesh system.

I need a break down step by step with pc details etc.

Please help as this is really doing my head in and the Plusnet hub keeps dropping out especially with multiple devices
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,278
Thanks: 2,299
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

Factory reset the HG612 and plug into the telephone (dsl) connection in place of the Hub One.

Connect an Ethernet cable from the LAN1 port on the HG612 to the WAN port on the AX92.

Connect to the AX92 , preferably with a wired connection to a LAN port, login to the routers GUI (manual page 14), and try the Quick internet setup ( manual page 15 ). It should detect the connection as PPPoE and you will need to enter your username ( <accountname>@plusdsl.net ) and your password.

If it doesnt automatically detect PPPoE then goto the manual setup (manual page 69 ), select PPPoE and enter your Plusnet credentials as above.

That should get you an internet connection.

Malcolmm80
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎21-04-2020

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

Cheers

Tried that but could not get connected into the router or the new hub. The light on the ASUs for the wan is still red as if it’s not connected. Very strange.

Tried to just get into the router on its own and again no joy.
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,278
Thanks: 2,299
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

What indicators on the HG612 are lit ?

Power and DSl should be solid Green, LAN1 should flash when AX92 tries to establish connection.

ARe you sure you have the username/password correct on the PPPoE setup

Tried to just get into the router on its own and again no joy.

Not quite sure what you mean there ? You wont be able to connect directly to the HG612 ( its just a modem )

Malcolmm80
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎21-04-2020

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

Manage to get it sorted. Not sure how but it’s all up and running and we have good speeds all around the house so we shall see how it goes.

Many thanks
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,278
Thanks: 2,299
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Asus RT-AX92U wireless AX6100 help

Fix

Glad to have been of help