cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS DSL-AC68U Settings

FIXED
rharris118
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 31-05-2017

ASUS DSL-AC68U Settings

Morning,

 

Could somebody just have a look at these DSL/VDSL settings for me and just make sure they are correct (the best options)

 

I'm on the unlimited fibre package.

 

Thanks,

Richard

7 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,325
Thanks: 1,154
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U Settings

Hi , yes it looks ok Thumbs Up 

mine is similar but  Gain adjustment is set to stable , not high performance Wink

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
NorthPole
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 250
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 6
Registered: 05-07-2013

Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U Settings

Fix

rharris118, I would advise against using any of the DSL-AC68U's Dynamic Line Adjustment features (as you appear to be); as they will almost certainly 'fight' BTOR's own Dynamic Line Management system. Set these values to 'disable' or 'default'. The Asus features are intended for environments where the VDSL service does not have its own software to monitor automatically the stability of the connection.

I use settings as per the attached screenshots, which work fine for me.

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,917
Thanks: 338
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U Settings

SRA should be enabled according to BT SIN 498. SRA is a fairly harmless feature to leave enabled while nothing is currently making use of it.

NorthPole
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 250
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 6
Registered: 05-07-2013

Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U Settings

EDIT: ejs, I'm sure you're right and there's no harm in having SRA set to 'Enabled'; although the SIN 498 document seems to only require this for ADSL. IIRC SRA has never been actually used in the UK except (possibly) by the now-defunct ISP 'UK Online'; I've never understood why SRA wasn't adopted more widely.

Re the OP, I also found this interesting sentence in SIN 498:

"It is the DLM system that sets the line profile, and this should not be interfered with by CPs/users setting rates, SNR margins etc. at the modem."

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,600
Thanks: 13
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U Settings

Should the Profile setting not be 17a rather than 30a?

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,917
Thanks: 338
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U Settings


NorthPole wrote:

although the SIN 498 document seems to only require this for ADSL.

No, it's R.VDSL2.9, which applies to VDSL2. G.993.2 is VDSL2, G.992.3 is ADSL2. (The ADSL2+ section of SIN 498 is probably completely irrelevant now that they're working on LR-VDSL instead for the really long lines.)

Profile 17a or 30a doesn't really matter, because it's one of the things where 17a will end up being used whatever the setting is. There's no harm in your modem also having profile 30a enabled.

rharris118
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 31-05-2017

Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U Settings

Thank you. I've used the exact settings on your screenshot. Lost 3meg on the sync speed but downloading at +5meg Thumbs Up