cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2.4Ghz or 5Ghz or Dual Band - Trying to resolve slow wifi

rogermhunt
Grafter

2.4Ghz or 5Ghz or Dual Band - Trying to resolve slow wifi

I'm trying to resolve recent slow Broadband speeds. We usually get around 33Mbps on both desktop PCs. For the last few weeks, it's been anything from between 3Mbps and 9Mbps.

In my investigations I came across inSSIDer as a tool to try and figure out what's going on. Bearing in mind that I'm a novice, I can see that the 2.4Ghz is running on Channel 11 and the 5Ghz is now running on Channel 40 (it was 48 before I refreshed the PN Hub).

I'm a bit confused because when I click on Device Manager and look at the properties of my network adapter it has a value showing Dual Band 802.11 a/b/g.

However, when I look on the Plusnet Hub, it shows that both our desktop PCs are using 2.4Ghz and that are no devices detected for 5Ghz . Now the fact that inSSIDer is showing two entries for my Router ID (presumably one for 2.4Ghz and one for 5Ghz I can't figure what this all means.

Why is PN Hub saying no devices detected under the 5Ghz.

Sorry if I've not explained this very well, but all I want to do is to try and ensure that I'm getting the best out of my wifi in a bid to try and improve the recent slow speeds (which seem to pick up every now and then later in the day).

One thought is that lots of people are experiencing slow speeds because there are more people staying at home and using the network, but looking on inSSIDer, there it doesn't appear to be too crowded in my vicinity.

Thanks if anyone can offer a steer.

10 REPLIES 10
dvorak
Fixes: 1,482

Re: 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz or Dual Band - Trying to resolve slow wifi

Moderators Note

This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
dvorak
Fixes: 1,482

Could be your devices are connected to the 2.4GHz band only.