cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

swithing provider

FIXED
rafalkosa
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-04-2016

swithing provider

if im a bt customer and i just swith to plusnet, do i need to inform bt about this?

19 REPLIES 19
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,792
Thanks: 4,487
Fixes: 1,139
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: swithing provider

Fix
welcome to the forum Smiley

Nope! Don't tell BT anything, just let PN take care of it for you.
Telling BT can have unintended consequences.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,723
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: swithing provider

That's assuming it is a transfer and you've not asked us to install a new line.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: swithing provider

Can i ask why you want to leave BT as i have been looking at their deals.Smiley

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
rafalkosa
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-04-2016

Re: swithing provider

at the moment i'm paying 50 for fibre and line rental.thats why

rafalkosa
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-04-2016

Re: swithing provider

Chris is that a problem?

 

jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: swithing provider

Thanks for your reply.Smiley

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,723
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: swithing provider

If you ask us to install a new line then it's not a transfer of service from BT and they may not be aware you're leaving. If you're keeping the same number when transferring to us, then they'll receive notification of the transfer happening.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
rafalkosa
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-04-2016

Re: swithing provider

ok, Yesterday i had a call from plusnet, and i asked them about this. She told me that i dont need to do anything. Just like in post from moderoator: 

 

'Nope! Don't tell BT anything, just let PN take care of it for you.
Telling BT can have unintended consequences.'

so what should I do now?

 

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,792
Thanks: 4,487
Fixes: 1,139
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: swithing provider

are you having a new line installed or just transferring the service?

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
rafalkosa
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-04-2016

Re: swithing provider

i have a phone line, but I didnt fill that space witth current tel no. on the main page. (enter landline no)
I just wanted to check the prices and at the end i forgot to change it.

 

Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,723
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: swithing provider

Can you send me a Private Message with your username and I'll see what kind of order we've placed.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,723
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: swithing provider

Thanks for the PM, unfortunately I can't find that username. Can you double check and confirm that you completed the sign-up?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
rafalkosa
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-04-2016

Re: swithing provider

Are You asking about plusnet email?
i dont have any.

Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,723
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: swithing provider

Did you go through the signup online and complete all the steps, one of the last would have asked for payment details.

 

During this you would have been asked to choose a username.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.