cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?

Simon_F
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?

Around mid Jan, I requested an upgrade from ADSL (with Plusnet)  to FTC and, at the same time, to move the telephone line to PNet.

I was led to believe this was scheduled for the 1st Feb and it would appear the telephone provider has changed .

However, I can't see any evidence of the broadband having improved despite the Pnet order progress page displaying:

bb-status.pngIndeed, the speed still seems to be the same, as confirmed by the Pnet page:

     Your broadband service

  • Product: Unlimited Fibre Extra
  • Estimated Download Range: 67 - 72Mbps
  • Estimated Upload Range: 17 - 18Mbps
  • Minimum Guaranteed Speed: 60.9Mbps
  • Current Line Speed (Download): 5.3Mbps

I then found this ticket...

quest-on-hold.png...which suggests the whole thing is on hold!

When should I expect something to actually occur?

Thanks

Simon

9 REPLIES 9
Thrall
Pro
Posts: 414
Thanks: 73
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎28-09-2020

Re: When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?

Tickets are generally put on hold while something’s in progress. From the screenshot it looks like an agent’s placed your fibre order with Openreach. 

You could try calling 0800 432 0200 for an update or wait to see what the 4th brings. 

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,393
Thanks: 525
Fixes: 53
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?

I would;d be looking into why your current speed is so low. It can’t be upgraded until that is fixed.

RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,381
Thanks: 616
Fixes: 30
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?

@Mustrum  I would assume that is because the OP is still on the ADSL service, there seems to have been a big delay on actually ordering the upgrade. 

Simon_F
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?

 We're about 5km from the local phone exchange and the ADSL "wet piece of string" is stretched to breaking point.

The local cabinet, OTOH, seems to be about 100m away, so I'm expecting it will be far better.

Simon_F
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?

I've also just noticed that my account page that my  teleophone + fibre contract officially started on the 17th of January, yet I've only just had the telephone contract changed over (1st Feb) and have no idea when the broadband will change.

I'm quite disappointed.  How can I have a contract starting long before the product is delivered?

Simon_F
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?

Aghh.. and now this:

We have checked the details of the last order placed on the account and found that the order has been cancelled. There will be no interruption in service in the meantime as it is an upgrade. If you wish to upgrade the service on the account then you need to contact our customer options team on 0800 432 0200 or 0345 140 0200.for help.

 

Simon_F
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?

Update: Fingers crossed, the nice gentleman I spoke to will get this remedied.

Simon_F
Grafter
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?

Looks like this switchover from ADSL to FTC will be done on the 17th of February.

I will have been paying for Fibre for a month by that stage 😞

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,784
Thanks: 4,480
Fixes: 1,136
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: When should I expect my service to actually change from ADSL to FTC?


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Order

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'