cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thinking about moving to plusnet. Got questions

TommyD

Thinking about moving to plusnet. Got questions

Thinking about moving to plusnet when my current package is up with another provider. I am not moving house, just switching. I do have some questions though that I need to know before I do this.

The biggest one by a long margin is simply, can I use another (industrial grade) router instead of the plusnet one? I have in excess of 30 devices connected on internal networks (for a plethora of reasons - this is my home address, although I work in IT) and I am well aware a standard home router wont last very long under that kind of constant load, which is mostly internal. The last one I used from my current ISP quite literally popped.

What sort of downtime can I expect when switching? This is huge as I work from home, and to be a realist, if I stick with my current provider I won't have any. 1 day I can deal with, though.

Off the back of the above point, if the agreed day does elapse and bares no fruit I would cancel the order straight away, probably at midnight. Whats the procedure for a cancellation prior to getting the connection? I dont beleive there is an upfront charge, however if there is, how long does the refund take?

How close to the switch date do I receive the router for the inital setup and line stablization? How long would I have to leave the plusnet router plugged in for the line to stabalize? This isnt hugely important, I can work around it as a temporary thing, be good to know though.

If I was to request a DLM reset, how long does this take and how does one go about doing that with plusnet?

I dont believe there is, but is there any fair-use polcies in play?