cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switching today phone line down for 4 hours?

sturose
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-09-2013

Switching today phone line down for 4 hours?

I'm switching back to Plusnet today from sky. My phone and broadband went off about 4 hours ago. I know there can be a delay but I would have thought, particularly nowadays that at the very least the phone line would be transferred quickly.

Is there anyway I can get an update on what's happening? I can handle a delay but I would at least like to know where I stand.

Thanks
6 REPLIES
sturose
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-09-2013

Re: Switching today phone line down for 4 hours?

Well this is great!!

I spoke with someone called Jason on live chat yesterday who assured me my service would be live by midnight.
Here we are, 12 hours past the deadline and I still have no phone or internet!

Pretty poor in this day and age where internet is more of a necessity than a luxury but you can be left without a service just because you switch suppliers. Just about every aspect of our lives relies on internet connectivity, even my energy supplier insists I deal with my account online, my tv entertainment is via internet connection, heck even my doctors prescription is ordered online nowadays!!!

I have opened a support ticket which stated average response times of 14 hours!!!

I may just go grovelling back to Sky yet!
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 645
Thanks: 173
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: Switching today phone line down for 4 hours?

Hi @sturose

 

Thanks for getting in touch. Sorry to hear that this has been delayed.

 

I've flagged this with one of my colleagues who will update you accordingly.

 

Best Wishes,

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
sturose
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-09-2013

Re: Switching today phone line down for 4 hours?

Seems to have been partially resolved, I now have internet but the phone line has no dial tone. When I call my landline from my mobile it rings but won't answer.

I have read that this can sometimes be due to the migration process so I can wait a further 24 hours or so to see if this is resolved. We mainly use mobiles anyway but the landline is required for certain people to contact us.

I'll check again tomorrow.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 13,041
Thanks: 4,332
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Switching today phone line down for 4 hours?

A move away from Sky involves messing with your phone line in the exchange - there is some possibility that process went wrong.  Try dialling 17070 and confirm that you have the right phone number.

sturose
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-09-2013

Re: Switching today phone line down for 4 hours?

I can't currently dial anything on my phone as I have no dial tone at all. When I ring my number from my mobile, my home phone does ring though so I don't believe it's a number issue.
If I try to answer my home phone it continues to ring both through my mobile and my landline.

If it's not rectified by tomorrow I'll have to raise a ticket.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,054
Thanks: 3,181
Fixes: 506
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Switching today phone line down for 4 hours?

Hi there. Sorry to hear your phone service doesn't work.

Our tests are showing a potential fault at the exchange on Openreach equipment.

I've raised this through to our suppliers now and I'll update your ticket with more info.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team