cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No Phoneline or Broadband (switchover day)

Simple_Simon
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

No Phoneline or Broadband (switchover day)

My switchover day for phoneline and ADSL is today, and I've been without service for 6 hours and counting. What is going on?

8 REPLIES 8
Witter
Grafter
Posts: 49
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-10-2019

Re: No Phoneline or Broadband (switchover day)

It can be anytime up to midnight
Simple_Simon
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: No Phoneline or Broadband (switchover day)

Surely the old 'line' shouldn't be disconnected so far ahead of the new one being provisioned?

Witter
Grafter
Posts: 49
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-10-2019

Re: No Phoneline or Broadband (switchover day)

I thought you switched from another isp,if you put the landline number into this it should say something about a open order completion date if you scroll down a bit
https://my.btwholesale.com/includes/adsl/adsl.htm?s_cid=ws_furls_adslchecker
PamT
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: No Phoneline or Broadband (switchover day)

I have been without landline or broadband for 3 days now. My switchover day was supposed to be today too.
Unable to contact anyone about this. Phone lines keep cutting me off and nowhere to message online. Tried both Plusnet and previous provider. Really frustrating as we are self isolating.
Simple_Simon
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: No Phoneline or Broadband (switchover day)

Switching from Sky to Plusnet. Been without phoneline for 8 hours now.

 

The ADSL checker reports 'no data available for this number'

198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,594
Thanks: 2,577
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: No Phoneline or Broadband (switchover day)

There must be hundreds of migrations taking place every day between various ISPs, so it's surely logistically impossible for transfers to be seamless.There has to be a gap between diconnection and reconnection.

I would assume that diconnections are planned for earlier in the day and reconnections for later.

I'm happy to be shot down in flames if the above assumptions are wrong...  😉

If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
PamT
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-04-2020

Re: No Phoneline or Broadband (switchover day)

Day 4 and still no landline or broadband. Have finally been able to enter a question to support team.

Approx 15 hour wait or longer as it is now the weekend.

Appreciate that there are others in same situation, happier that I have been able to log the query.

Previous supplier just sent a message to say is no fault on my line - Really?? and they wonder why I left them.

EdWeasley
Rising Star
Posts: 122
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎09-03-2020

Re: No Phoneline or Broadband (switchover day)

Hi @Simple_Simon,

 

Thank you for taking your time to get in touch.

 

I am very sorry that you are having a problem with our service. From looking into the account I can see that you have rectified the problem and the connection is now working.

 

Kind regards,

 

Josh

 

 Josh Berriman
 Plusnet Help Team