cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Fibre upgade

eeje
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-12-2016

New Fibre upgade

On the 6th December 2016 my account was upgraded to unlimited fibre up to 38mb.

Before the upgrade went live there was a note on my account saying that there was a order for 21CN ?.

 

I am a little confused as my line speed is now 21mb and no were near  the 38mb I was expecting  ( BT line check and other sources states the line is good for 46mb max).

has my line been upgraded to 21CN and not FTTC or will this speed increase given time Huh 

Thanks

11 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,543
Thanks: 247
Fixes: 111
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New Fibre upgade

I'm looking into this for you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
eeje
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-12-2016

Re: New Fibre upgade

Thank you

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,543
Thanks: 247
Fixes: 111
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New Fibre upgade

Our tests are showing what's known as a bridge tap which can sometimes be a sign of a internal issue.

Can you confirm the router is connected to the master socket?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
eeje
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-12-2016

Re: New Fibre upgade

Yes it is connected to a new BT master socket ( the type that has a built in filter).

 

This was fitted by BT about two months ago when they were investigating a slow connection before this upgrade.

This didn't work and they said they had to swap the line over at the exchange, all was good after that. 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,543
Thanks: 247
Fixes: 111
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New Fibre upgade

In that case I'd recommend raising a fault here so we can get that looked into.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
eeje
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-12-2016

Re: New Fibre upgade

Thanks Matthew, ill have to do this when I get home.

eeje
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-12-2016

Re: New Fibre upgade

I have raised a ticket.

But When I ran the BT line check last night the "IP Profile for Line is" said 24mbps.

Could my profile be set at the wrong speedHuh
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 114
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: New Fibre upgade

Testing your broadband, the router is in sync below the estimated speed range.

 

As I'm not detecting the cause, the next step would be to arrange an engineer visit. I've updated your ticket, if you reply to with the requested information we'll get it booked in for you.

 

Also, there is no banding applied:

 

Profile Name 0.128M-40M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-2M Upstream, Error Protection Off
I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
eeje
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-12-2016

Re: New Fibre upgade

Thanks, I've just updated my Ticket so you can book a engineer.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 114
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: New Fibre upgade

All booked, @eeje for tomorrow between 8am and 1pm.

 

Feel free to let me know how it goes.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
eeje
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 08-12-2016

Re: New Fibre upgade

Thanks, will do