Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Minimum Guaranteed Line Access Speed - ADSL+2

McT
Grafter

Re: Minimum Guaranteed Line Access Speed - ADSL+2

@Townman wrote:

....... however a migration to fibre might be fraught given the incorrect cabinet data.

If only! My cabinet is not due to get fibre until March 2018 at the earliest, and maybe not until December 2019.

@ejs Yes, you're quite right about ATM and IP headers. I remember thinking, in the 1980s probably, when I was a network engineer and having to mug up on Asynchronous Transfer Mode, that it seemed incredibly wasteful of network bandwidth. Those were the days of SNA and even TCP/IP was rare in the UK where bandwidth was much more expensive than the US.

The Up/Down error stats are correct - they were cut and pasted. To answer Townman's question about line up time - it was 28 days.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 160

Ah the days of SNA - recall them well!  Along with OSLAN, initially thick, followed by thin all to be replaced by this silly star wired Ethernet stuff! Cheesy

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

ejs
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 25

@McT wrote:

The Up/Down error stats are correct - they were cut and pasted. To answer Townman's question about line up time - it was 28 days.

But what modem/router is it? Copying and pasting is of no help when the device itself reports them the wrong way around. I think it's a known bug with some Asus devices. It also seems unlikely for there to really be no errors on the downstream yet a few (for 28 days) on the upstream. But for 28 days, those counts are negligible anyway.

McT
Grafter

@ejs wrote:

.......... when the device itself reports them the wrong way around.

Interesting thought, but likely? I don't know. The current router is an HG533, but I've just swapped it for an HG633 and we'll see in a few days.

Chris