cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it always this bad, or am I unlucky?

FIXED
OfflineSteve

Is it always this bad, or am I unlucky?

I'm totally new to broadband but happily had just a landline from BT for 14 years without any problem.

1. Placed order with PlusNet for home phone and broadband & got an eMail from BT telling me when they would relinquish my line to PlusNet (today).
  2. Got an eMail from PlusNet at circa 4am this morning saying my phone had been transferred across - theoretically great, except that it's not strictly true: my phone hasn't worked all day (no dial tone).
  3. The first guy at the Call Centre (circa 11am) told me it would definitely be fixed today and the phoneline wouldn't work until the broadband had been added, so not to worry - it would definitely be working today.
  4. The second guy at the Call Centre (circa 6pm) put me through to a tech guy who said there's a fault on the landline at the exchange so he's raised a ticket for Openreach who seemingly have a 72hr Service Level Agreement to even mobilise - and no specified/agreed timescale for fixing anything.
  5. The third guy at the Call Centre (circa 7pm) confirmed that there's nothing anyone at the Call Centre can do to escalate the problem (it's all apparently in the hands of Openreach) - all PlusNet Call Centre staff can do is raise tickets - they can't chase Openreach, and Openreach seem to be accountable to no-one.

So here I am without a working phone, nor any idea when it will be fixed. PlusNet never mentioned that during the switch-over my phone would be out of action for an unspecified time (I've almost given up caring about broadband, I just want my phone to work again - like it did for the 14 years uninterrupted/faultless while I was with BT).

Am I just unlucky, or is it always like this?

3 REPLIES 3
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 1,600

Re: Is it always this bad, or am I unlucky?

Fix

Hi Steve,