cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

FIXED
Layoes
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-07-2021

Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

I've just signed up to Plusnet because I can only get 5mb download from BT and it just isn't enough for this household. Plusnet have guaranteed 20mbps download speed, with an expectation of more, but when I told BT this they say that if they can't get more than 5mb, Plusnet won't either, as they both use the same lines.  I'm wondering if this is just a sales tactic or if I'm going to get a message from Plusnet changing the guarantee. Anyone else had this?

28 REPLIES 28
bmc
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,547
Thanks: 349
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

@Layoes 

Put your phone number in the following and see what it says for your house.

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

 

Brian

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 8,251
Thanks: 1,817
Fixes: 91
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

@Layoes Welcome to the forums. If you post the result of this site:BT Broadband (ensuring your phone number is obscured), someone will be able to explain your options.

John
Layoes
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-07-2021

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

Is this enough info?

 

Featured Products Downstream Line Rate(Mbps) Upstream Line Rate (Mbps) Downstream Handback
Threshold(Mbps)
WBC FTTC Availability Date WBC SOGEA Availability Date Left in Jumper
High Low High Low        
VDSL Range A (Clean) help 34.1 26.5 6.6 4.7 22.6 Available Available --
VDSL Range B (Impacted) help 33.4 22.4 6.5 4.3 18 Available Available --
Featured Products Downstream Line Rate(Mbps) Upstream Line Rate (Mbps) Downstream Range (Mbps) Availability Date FTTP Install Process
FTTP on Demand 330 50 -- Available --
ADSL Products Downstream Line Rate (Mbps) Upstream Line Rate (Mbps) Downstream Range(Mbps) ADSL Availability Date WBC SOADSL Availability Date Left in Jumper
WBC ADSL 2+ Up to 15.5 -- 13.5 to 18 Available -- --
WBC ADSL2+ Annex M Up to 15.5 Up to 1.5 13.5 to 18 Available -- --
ADSL Max Up to 8 -- 7 to 8 Available -- --
WBC Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available -- --
Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available -- --
Observed Speeds VDSL
Max Observed Downstream Speed 6.1
Max Observed Upstream Speed 0.56
Observed Date 2019-12-18
Other Offerings Availability Date
VDSL Multicast Available
ADSL Multicast Available
Premise Environment Status
Bridge Tap N
VRI N
NTE FacePlate N
Last Test Date 10-07-2021
Exchange Product Restrictions Status
FTTP Priority Exchange help N
WLR Withdrawal help N
SOADSL Restriction help Y
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 8,251
Thanks: 1,817
Fixes: 91
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

That table says you can get good ADSL and reasonable FTTC - why BT told you what they did is beyond me.

John
Layoes
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-07-2021

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

Thank you both. I can't pretend to understand what all the figures mean, but Plusnet are starting my new service on the 28th, so I wanted to check up. 

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,669
Thanks: 5,182
Fixes: 1,300
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Order 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
bmc
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,547
Thanks: 349
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

@Layoes 

Assuming you ordered FTTC (this shows as VDSL on the results) you look at the high / low figures.

 

This shows PlusNet's minimum speed guarantee of 20 is just below what OpenReach are saying for your line.

 

Brian

bmc
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,547
Thanks: 349
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

@Layoes 

Just had another look at the results. Further down there's a section called Observed Speeds.

 

Here it says the maximum observed on the line (under VDSL) is 6.1 - this could be where BT is getting their number from.

 

Brian

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,149
Thanks: 2,702
Fixes: 217
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

@Layoes 

What these figures are telling me is that either this information is wrong OR you have a fault on your line.  You should be getting 26.5 Mbps minimum but are currently syncing at 6!
Do not be surprised if this fault transfers with you. If it does you will need to report a fault.

If you have a Smarthub 6 and you won’t be charged for not returning it then keep it as it can be used on your Plusnet service.  They are better than Plusnet’s offerings. You will find setting instructions pinned to the top of the Router board.

Edit the last test of your speed was in 2019 and appears not to have been checked since. It sounds like you have been living with this situation for a couple of years.

Once transferred do come back here if you want advice on getting the best speed from your connection.

Layoes
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-07-2021

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

Yes, I wondered that - but you'd think BT would know what they're talking about, wouldn't you? I've just checked again with my neighbour, who also has BT, and he gets c27mbps, so why they kept insisting I couldn't have it is beyond me. Anyway, Plusnet is cheaper! (and they have a nice forum).

Thanks for your help.

Jill

Layoes
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-07-2021

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

Thank you. I probably will have to come back!  I'm pretty sure I've had the line checked a couple of times before and they've said there was no fault, but I might try and do it again while still with BT. 

Actually, I have reported it as a fault about a week ago, but they haven't looked at it yet.

 

Longliner
Pro
Posts: 284
Thanks: 97
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎22-10-2014

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

@Layoes As Baldrick suggests, keep your BT HH6 if you can, though a year or two back BT said they would charge new customers who did not return their Hub on leaving. Otherwise while you are waiting you might like to source one via Gumtree or eBay, they fetch around £5-£25 and many of us find they have far better wifi than Pnet's Hub One which is basically the old HH5 in a cheap dress. Advice aplenty on this forum which as you say is a friendly one! Hope all goes well on the day.

Mav
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20,791
Thanks: 3,973
Fixes: 439
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Unhelpful post removed.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Layoes
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-07-2021

Re: Is BT lying or is Plusnet having me on?

Thank you all for your advice, much appreciated.