cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long for Speeds to update after package upgrade

Gwharton
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎27-02-2023

How long for Speeds to update after package upgrade

Hi guys,

I upgraded from Full Fibre 300 to Full Fibre 500 today. I got the email confirming that it was all complete. I ran a speed test and my speeds are still 300mbps. Anyone have any idea how long this should take to update? I've restated both my router and the fibre box, still the same speeds on several different devices.

 

Cheers,

 

5 REPLIES 5
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,358
Thanks: 5,283
Fixes: 379
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: How long for Speeds to update after package upgrade

Are you doing the speed tests wired or wireless ? Wireless could easily max out at around the 300Mb on some router/ device connections

Try with a wired ( cat5e or better cable ) using speedtest.net. The bt wholesale speedtest is very erratic on higher speed connections.

You might also need to drop and restart the connection, by restarting the router, to pick up the new speed profile

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Gwharton
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎27-02-2023

Re: How long for Speeds to update after package upgrade

Thanks for the reply.

 

Tested on both Wireless and Wired connections. High end Netgear Night Hawk router hardwired direct to the router with a Cat5e cable.

 

Here is my screen shot showing less than 300. It's strange that it's showing a little lower after the upgrade, even after a few tests it's showing lower than one ran last night, which showed 290Mbps (Could be peak times though).

 

Cheers,

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,358
Thanks: 5,283
Fixes: 379
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: How long for Speeds to update after package upgrade

High end Netgear Night Hawk router hardwired direct to the router with a Cat5e cable

Make sure any QoS is disabled. If that doesn't help then probably best to raise a fault

Edit : there isn't a vpn being used is there ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Gwharton
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎27-02-2023

Re: How long for Speeds to update after package upgrade

No QoS on and no VPN. I've done another speed test and it's going up now (430mbps), so I think it just takes some time update. Thanks for you time and helping me test things.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,358
Thanks: 5,283
Fixes: 379
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: How long for Speeds to update after package upgrade

There is no 'training period' like fttc, it should go at the provisioned speed immediately. The only external factors in speed are the speed tester or possibly contention

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.