cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre upgrade but speeds havent changed

Crez04

Fibre upgrade but speeds havent changed

I've recently upgraded to fibre. The contract upgrade took place on 17 Dec, but my new Hub Two didn't arrive until yesterday so only set it up today. On doing a speedtest, I'm still only getting 5mbps. Any thoughts?
9 REPLIES 9
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: Fibre upgrade but speeds havent changed

@Crez04 Welcome to the forums. I have no knowledge of the Hub2 interface, but does it have a Help Desk tab? If so, can you post a screenshot?

John
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 158

Hello @Crez04 

A warm welcome to the forums.

Are your reporting line sync speed (as reported by the router) or data speed?  If the latter, how are you measuring the line's data speed - over WiFi or an ethernet connected device?

There are a number of reasons this might be being experienced - a wifi issue, a PC throughput issue, a line fault or a product configuration.

Have you checked the phone line?

Broadband is not going to work well if the "phone" line is not working properly.

Please perform a quiet line test - dial 17070 select option 2 using a corded phone plugged into the test socket behind the face plate of the master socket. It should be silent. A noisy phone line (or no dial tone) will have a marked adverse impact on the performance of broadband.

If the line is noisy or there is no dial tone, then a PHONE LINE fault needs to be raised with your phone provider. If this is PlusNet, you can report a fault on line using the button below.  From the Q&A list, choose the one which matches the problem, 'open' the 'section' and click the trouble-shooter link.  NB: If you receive a failure message (rather than a log-in prompt) then log-in to the user portal in a different browser tab and attempt to use the trouble-shooter again.

What is the line speed reported in the router?  Which one do you have?