cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre upgrade. No difference

hohoholmes
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎12-07-2020

Fibre upgrade. No difference

I recently upgraded to fibre broadband. The upgrade was supposed to happen yesterday but I'm still getting the same download and upload speed 7mbps/0.4mbps... I've checked the website mentioned in previous posts about the same thing but it doesn't say anything about the line switching over (no date)... new router is plugged in and working. Any ideas why?
Tags (2)
10 REPLIES 10
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,503
Thanks: 2,932
Fixes: 191
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Fibre upgrade. No difference

@hohoholmes 

The hub one works on both ADSL and fibre so the chances are that it hasn’t yet been changed over. Not having a hub one I don’t know where to find it but if you log in and search through the options you will find an entry for your modulation type. You are looking for G.993.x which is fibre. If it’s G.992.x then you are still on ADSL.

hohoholmes
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎12-07-2020

Re: Fibre upgrade. No difference

Thanks for the quick reply. Smiley I've logged in and havent been able to fine the modulation type. I looked through all the different settings and advanced settings.... hopefully to fibre happens soon. Really struggling when working from home 😕
Dan_the_Van
Pro
Posts: 499
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Fibre upgrade. No difference

Hi @hohoholmes 

 

From the Hub One home page click on Troubleshooting > Help Desk, you should see a table with various settings, this is VDSL

23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B

 

Hope this helps.

Dan.

hohoholmes
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎12-07-2020

Re: Fibre upgrade. No difference

Nice one thanks. Yeah it shows G.992.5 Annex A. Wonder when it's going to switch over as havent heard anything 🤔
Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,304
Thanks: 6,517
Fixes: 1,074
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Fibre upgrade. No difference

Thanks for your post @hohoholmes

I've just checked your fibre order and it should go live today. Looks like it was delayed due to engineer availability. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
hohoholmes
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎12-07-2020

Re: Fibre upgrade. No difference

Thanks for the reply. Yeah I called yesterday and was told it would go live today. Router is currently on a solid orange light so I assume somethings happening now.
Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,304
Thanks: 6,517
Fixes: 1,074
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Fibre upgrade. No difference

No problem @hohoholmes

Fingers crossed the switch doesn't take long

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,513
Thanks: 3,429
Fixes: 514
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Fibre upgrade. No difference

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from Fibre Broadband to My Order.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 89.0.1 (64-bit)

hohoholmes
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎12-07-2020

Re: Fibre upgrade. No difference

Hi. The switch has now happened but the speeds are very up and down... the max download speed I've had is around 17mbps and upload around 5mbps. I've tried moving the router to different positions, changing the channels, rebooting, resetting... I've noticed I cant change the dns settings on the one router so tried my archer c50... no difference. The line is plugged into the main bt socket. When I've woke up this morning, the router is struggling to get more than 8mbps. This is so frustrating. Can this be looked into as I have a guaranteed minimum of 18mbps and haven't been able to achieve it yet.
BD
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 951
Thanks: 207
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎24-04-2017

Re: Fibre upgrade. No difference

Hi @hohoholmes, thanks for getting back to us and I'm sorry to hear the speeds of your connection don't look to be where we'd expect them to be with currently only 18.7Mbps download reaching your router despite the estimates for your line being 22 - 36Mbps. During the first few days/week or so of a connection we can see the training period impacting the speeds however we wouldn't expect the speeds to drop so much below your estimates so I beleive there's something out of place somewhere which may be causing this.

Our testing from this side isn't highlighting any fault locations or what looks to be behind the missing speed so firstly , if you could please run through the below checks your side that will help rule a number of internal factors out. Should speed issues look to persist after doing so then we'll happily look into raising a fault and progressing this issue further for you.

I'd recommend starting with basic checks here: http://goo.gl/p2tpvL

 

And if that doesn't help the next thing would be to rule your internal wiring out by plugging the connection into your test socket which is under the faceplate of your master socket and seeing if the speeds increase. This rules out internal wiring, face plates and extension sockets as being the cause. How to locate the test socket and set your connection into it can be found here:
https://community.plus.net/t5/Library/Testing-From-The-Master-Socket/ba-p/1322242

Should the issue look to persist after the above checks then please let us know and we'll happily look to progress this fault further for you.

 

 

 

 Ben Devine
 Plusnet Help Team