cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Engineer hasn’t turned up

jongor
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎22-03-2021

Engineer hasn’t turned up

An Openreach engineer was due to arrive this morning but there has been no visit or phone call to explain why.
Plusnet have said the line is ready and broadband is activated but I can’t do anything until I have an Openreach modem!

What can I do about this?
7 REPLIES 7
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,071
Thanks: 788
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Engineer hasn’t turned up

Openreach no longer supply modems.

Have you got your pn router?

If so plug that in.

jongor
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎22-03-2021

Re: Engineer hasn’t turned up

I have my own router so didn’t request a PN one. I need a modem to convert the xDSL signal to Ethernet i.e. via an Openreach modem.
If they’re not supplying them then how am I supposed to get online? And when did this change?Huh
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,305
Thanks: 1,625
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Engineer hasn’t turned up


@jongor wrote:
If they’re not supplying them then how am I supposed to get online? And when did this change?Huh

2016.

Ideally you need a modem/router such as supplied by Plusnet.

Many people buy a BT hub from a well known auction site.

Windows 10 Firefox 105.0.1 (64-bit)
jongor
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎22-03-2021

Re: Engineer hasn’t turned up

Well that explains that, then. Last time I took out FTTC from PN was 2014!
Why can’t this be made clear during ordering? That without their modem/router combo, you’d need a specialist device to get online?
I’ll have to scour eBay etc for an Openreach modem then; I don’t want to replace my Google router.
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,192
Thanks: 4,170
Fixes: 323
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Engineer hasn’t turned up

@jongor 

You get on line by either taking the Plusnet freebie combined modem/router or suppling your own hardware. You can get a second hand modem, I recommend the Model 3B Huawei HG612, available from EBay.

Openreach stopped fitting the modem about 5/6 years ago.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jongor
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎22-03-2021

Re: Engineer hasn’t turned up

Thanks guys, I appreciate the help. And it goes some way to explaining why there’s been no engineer turn up - I guess nothing needed doing. I don’t even know what the £50 I paid was for as clearly the line was already active (PN confirmed my BB was ready at 4am this morning) and now there’s no modem either.
Oh well, lesson learned, technology moves forward on us all, even the tech savvy.
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,192
Thanks: 4,170
Fixes: 323
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Engineer hasn’t turned up

@jongor 

Work has to be done by Openreach but it’s in the exchange/street FTTC cabinet, hence the charge.

If you ring Plusnet they will send you out their combined modem/router for the P&P charge by first class post. However be aware that the wireless performance of these is poor.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'