Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

White Screen of death

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Fixes: 16

Re: White Screen of death

Hi @Anonymous, I agree with your comments. As I've mentioned previously, I've been developing software commercially for 40 years (I'm a CEng in IT development) so I also know how projects should be managed and software developed/upgraded. Plusnet management do need to accept that they have a problem and get a grip on it - so far there hasn't been any visible progress on a number of different problems.

I had said that I'd have a go at debugging just what's happening at the client end of Plusnet's system over Christmas. I did actually start that, but came to my senses and instead I spent the time updating my backup MX server (I don't trust Plusnet's e-mail system at all). I have tried to PM you about this, but I now always get an error stating that I've exceeded the allowed number of PMs (I think I've sent about 5 ever).

Anonymous
Not applicable

As I we know nothing about their development process, I would have assumed that the Test Manager would have looked at the Apache logs (or their variant) to get an insight in to what OSs and Browsers were being used by the majority of users then build a set of Virtual Test machines using the information, but it would appear that is is not the case.

It could of course be the case that the appearance of the white space is not browser related at all, but is account / user / condition specific and related to the billing process service executable(s).

But equally, a properly staged test environment would have shown this long before the system went in to production.

P.S. You may not have been able to send me a PM as up until recently I had them turned off.

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Fixes: 16

I think it is actually broken in several different ways.