cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

View my usage.... a suggestion

Luzern
Hero
Posts: 4,823
Thanks: 872
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

View my usage.... a suggestion

For anyone wishing to put usage data in to a spreadsheet, the current presentation is not ideal.
The existence of two measures GB and MB in the same table as presented by PN with the requisite annotations is the problem, as also is the need to convert info to either MB or GB to make analyses.
I suggest to PN management, therefore, that all usage should be standardised to GB to, say, three decimal points.
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
45 REPLIES 45
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

Good call!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
hadden
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

Could I supplement that by suggesting that "GB" then need not be included after the values, so that the table only contains numbers?
Luzern
Hero
Posts: 4,823
Thanks: 872
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

@ JohnJ. That's the  intention implied but not expressed in "The existence of two measures GB and MB in the same table as presented by PN with the requisite annotations is the problem" Wink
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
hadden
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

Sorry, I may have interpreted that in more mathematical terms  Roll_eyes
Would you consider trying a Greasemonkey script that converted all MB numeric values to GB and omitted the "requisite annotations"?
Luzern
Hero
Posts: 4,823
Thanks: 872
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

Hmm! With my tech nous Shocked Crazy Lips_are_sealed Undecided
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
hadden
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

Why not?
What's the worst that can happen?  Cool
Luzern
Hero
Posts: 4,823
Thanks: 872
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

Another nuclear disaster, forest fires in the Sahara, a abd attack of arsteroids? ;D.
If not me someone might want and feel more able to use? Smiley
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
hadden
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

I'm sure you wouldn't get the blame for all of those... probably.  Lips_are_sealed
So, here's a greasemonkey script that seems to work OK for me. However I'm not sure about the global side effects.
// ==UserScript==
// @name           Broadband Usage in gigabytes
// @namespace      https://portal.plus.net/view_my_broadband_usage/index.php
// @description    Remove UOM from usage figures
// @include        https://portal.plus.net/view_my_broadband_usage/index.php?&strAction=PERIOD
// ==/UserScript==
var currentUom, currentCell, currentUsage;
var targetCells = document.getElementsByTagName('td');
var targetH3 = document.getElementsByTagName('h3');
for (i=0; i < targetCells.length; i++) {
if (currentCell = targetCells.childNodes[0].nodeName !== 'STRONG') {
currentCell = targetCells.innerHTML;
}
else {
currentCell = targetCells.childNodes[0].innerHTML;
}
currentCell = currentCell.replace(/\s/g, '');
currentUom = currentCell.substr(-2);
currentUsage = parseFloat(currentCell);
switch (currentUom)
{
case "KB":
currentUsage = currentUsage/1000/1000;
targetCells.innerHTML = currentUsage.toFixed(3);
break;
case "MB":
currentUsage = currentUsage/1000;
targetCells.innerHTML = currentUsage.toFixed(3);
break;
case "GB":
currentUsage = parseFloat(currentUsage);
targetCells.innerHTML = currentUsage.toFixed(3);
break;
default:
currentCell = currentCell;
}
}
for (i=0; i < targetH3.length; i++) {
if (targetH3.innerHTML === 'Key:') {
targetH3.innerHTML = 'Note:';
targetH3.nextElementSibling.innerHTML = '<li>All figures are in gigabytes (GB)</li>';
}
}

Edit - updated the script code
Luzern
Hero
Posts: 4,823
Thanks: 872
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

Now in serious mode! Shocked :lol: What would I need do with that script in my Win7 Home Premium set up. I haven't a clue how to install or use for the purpose in mind.
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
hadden
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

These are the steps:
1. Install Firefox
2. Install Greasemonkey add-on to Firefox
3. In Firefox, select Tools > Greasemonkey > New User Script...
4. In the window that appears enter a name for this script, eg "Broadband usage in gigabits" and click OK.
5. A page should open in your text editor, eg Notepad.
6. Copy the entire text from the code box in my previous message in this topic, and paste it into the window opened in step 5, replacing the previous contents.
7. Close the text editor, saving the changes.
8. Go to the Plusnet Broadband usage (for the current period).
9. Optionally, tell me where I've got it wrong  Roll_eyes
FYI. There are other ways to achieve the above. Also, I believe that Chrome supports userscripts without an add-on, but I've never tried it.
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

Quote from: JohnJ
9. Optionally, tell me where I've got it wrong  Roll_eyes

It doesn't work!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
hadden
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

I only claimed that it worked for me Smiley
Could you be a little more specific? For example, are some of the values changed and not others?
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

Nothing is changed.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
hadden
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: View my usage.... a suggestion

Apart from the figures, is there a change in the column at the right, starting "Please note:"?
The script should also add a message at the bottom of that column about the figures being in GB.