cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to monitor amount downloaded

polygor38
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 17-03-2012

Unable to monitor amount downloaded

Hi
My broadband went live yesterday and I was astonished to get a text warning me that I'd already used 6GB on the same day.  I'm still unable to monitor my usage, presumably because I'm a new customer.
Could someone at PN look into this for me please as it's quite worrying?
16 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,891
Thanks: 1,195
Fixes: 50
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

In the meantime you could use something like this to monitor usage...http://www.softperfect.com/products/networx/

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,447
Thanks: 689
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

Quote from: polygor38
I'm still unable to monitor my usage, presumably because I'm a new customer.

I've never heard of this before. What do you get when you go to https://portal.plus.net/view_my_broadband_usage/index.php
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
polygor38
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 17-03-2012

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

Just checked again...
"Sorry, there's nothing to show at the moment.
This might be because your account is new, or your usage has been reset for a new billing period.
It can take up to 2 hours for your usage to show up - please try again later."
polygor38
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 17-03-2012

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

Quote from: Strat
In the meantime you could use something like this to monitor usage...http://www.softperfect.com/products/networx/

Thanks for the link.  I need to monitor another PC, so I imagine it would mean having to keep mine running constantly.
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

you have to have networx on both machines, and share set up, not sure, but I dont think you have to have both machines on all the time.  you get a choice of one machine and all.
it gives you an houry, daily, weekly, on peak and off peak usage, up and down.
polygor38
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 17-03-2012

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

I got the impression that one installation would monitor all computers downloading from the same router?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,891
Thanks: 1,195
Fixes: 50
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

It is possible to configure it to monitor router traffic regardless of it's source but as you say it would mean keeping that computer running all the time.
Pierré's suggested setup is probably preferred.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

polygor38
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 17-03-2012

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

I've clicked on Settings, Advanced, Synchronise usage data with other Networx instances on the network.
I'm still unsure if this is going to record all usage, hence my appeal to PN staff to look at my query.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,447
Thanks: 689
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

You set up NetWorX on both machines and set the option Synchonise usage data with other NetWorX instances on the network on both machines.
Each machine logs it's own usage and then shares it whenever they are both on at the same time, so there is no need to keep one machine on.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,891
Thanks: 1,195
Fixes: 50
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

The traffic it's likely to miss is background traffic between the router and the internet and this is usually small.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,447
Thanks: 689
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

The only way you can monitor that is if you have a router that supports SNMP (not many routers designed for residential use do this).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
polygor38
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 17-03-2012

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

Thanks for all your replies.  I'll contact Customer Support on Monday
Simon_M
Grafter
Posts: 684
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

Quote from: polygor38
Just checked again...
"Sorry, there's nothing to show at the moment.
This might be because your account is new, or your usage has been reset for a new billing period.
It can take up to 2 hours for your usage to show up - please try again later."

I get the same message.
I raised a support ticket & got the following response.
Quote
I have added your account to an internal problem (69949) which has been raised to investigate the cause of your view my usage not working correctly.

I think only certain accounts are affected, but I've no idea which ones or why.
P.S. That was on 12th March & it's still the same today.
polygor38
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 17-03-2012

Re: Unable to monitor amount downloaded

Thanks for that, Simon.  Doesn't help when you need to keep a check on usage!