cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stop order :S

marbeck3
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 17-11-2014

Stop order :S

Hi,
We've cancelled out current broadband with Post Office and they've given a date of 28th November 2014 when our broadband & phone line ends. I've just had a text from Plus Net saying you can't process our fibre and phone line order until this 'stop' had been removed or it's going to cost £49.99.
When I signed up with Plus Net it said 'free phone line activation worth £49.99' - I'm confused!
EDIT: When signing up with Plus Net online the closest engineer visit I could choose to the above date was 4th December 2014.
If someone could get back to me asap?
Thanks
Martin Butler

12 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,253
Thanks: 197
Fixes: 62
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Stop order :S

Hi marbeck3 and welcome to the Community!
The £49.99 is for a new line installation which is what we'd have to arrange if the previous provider "stop" the line as that means we're unable to follow the process of transferring it over.
With that in mind I'd give PO a call ASAP and advise them to cancel that order as it's not needed and would lead to additional costs for yourself.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
marbeck3
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 17-11-2014

Re: Stop order :S

Thanks Adam.
Will give them a ring. They've obviously misunderstood our cancellation requirements (and cancelled the line just not the account) - we even told them we're moving to Plus Net as PO don't offer a fibre service.
marbeck3
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 17-11-2014

Re: Stop order :S

EDIT update: PO cocked up. Someone actually helpful has now removed the 'cease' that was put on our phone line (which should'nt have been done in the first), this will take 24hours. After that Plus Net should be able to continue with my order.

ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: Stop order :S

Did you ask for a MAC from post office? Have a look here
https://www.plus.net/home-broadband/switch/
Ian
marbeck3
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 17-11-2014

Re: Stop order :S

Apparantly a MAC isn't needed when moving from broadband to fibre?
ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: Stop order :S

mmmm, I think it is ask for one and supply it to plusnet anyway; they will give it to you over the phone immediately.
Opening hours to receive mac from the post office is 9-5
Ian
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Stop order :S

I see that one of my colleagues here has been able to place the phone and fibre orders for you. I've just had to make a slight change to the phone order so this matches the fibre order, otherwise the PO would likely have ceased the line before we took it over. We'll double check again tomorrow to make sure everything is looking fine.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 688
Thanks: 253
Fixes: 11
Registered: 07-07-2009

Re: Stop order :S

Who told you a MAC isn't required? Whoever it was is totally wrong.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Stop order :S

I believe that if you're on an MPF circuit with PO and moving to Fibre then a MAC isn't required.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 688
Thanks: 253
Fixes: 11
Registered: 07-07-2009

Re: Stop order :S

@ Chris. Of course you are correct, my failing memory did not recall that Post Office is now using TT LLU, but generally a migration from ADSL( non-LLU) to Fibre will need a MAC. Smiley
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Stop order :S

I had to check myself! It's a type of order I personally hadn't dealt with much recently.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
marbeck3
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 17-11-2014

Re: Stop order :S

Thank you Chris. Hopefully everything will be ok now.
Smiley