cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need some advice on house move

jamiekerk

Need some advice on house move

On saturday i am moving house i contacted plusnet and they say its going to be 5 weeks before im up and running at new house.
They are blaming this on the line not having a active line and blaming olympics for not having engineers avalible.
Im currently studying online through open university and am unemplyed so i need the internet to look for work.
They say theres nothing they can do to speed it up i need some advice i dont want to switch as i dont want the hastle but i am not prepaird to wait 5 weeks.
Also when i asked about bill they said i still need to pay it even though im without phone and broadband for 5 weeks. Cry
So i need some advice as im getting no service from plusnet at all.
They say no over provider can do it quicker but as im without it for 5 weeks i might as well cancle the lot and switch to a cheaper provider.
9 REPLIES 9
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: Need some advice on house move

The 5 weeks is something you are probably stuck with as the work needs to be done by BT Openreach for all suppliers.
Once you are up and running the normal practice is to credit the payments you made while off line.
The only way you will get the internet in the meantime is via a mobile phone (expensive) or to use a wifi hot spot (or a pub or coffee shop with free wifi)
LukeAger
Grafter

HI Jamiekerk. There are some delays we are facing at the moment with appointments for connecting new lines, it is true that this is partially to do with the Olympics.  Sad
Sadly, as we share the network with almost all other providers we are all at mercy to the same engineers availability, meaning that both ourselves and our competitors will only be able to offer you the next appointment that BT can do in the area, which should always be the same date.