cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is my Premium productt now an 'up to 20' connection?

kentmere
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 14-04-2007

Is my Premium productt now an 'up to 20' connection?

Hello
I upgraded to the Premium product in February 2010 and noted that I would be informed about when our connection would be moved to the ‘up to 20Mbps’ band, following changes at the local exchange. These changes seem to have happened by the end of April because a friend of mine who lives a few yards away (also having also upgraded to Premium) was informed that his service would be moved to ‘up to 20Mbps’ within a short time.  He now sees max download speeds of about 15Mbps. However, I haven’t been informed about this change and although my connection is now very stable after wiring amendments here, I usually see a max speed of 6.5Mbps, my Thompson router syncing at about 8.5Mbps.  I am assuming that I am still on an ‘up to 8’ connection.  See data below:
DSL Connection (07.09.2010)
Link Information


Uptime: 27 days, 9:40:05

DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 444 / 8,558

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 8.00

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 13.0 / 0.0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 23.5 / 41.5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 26.5 / 8.0

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): 0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 236 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): NA / 16,921,242

CRC Errors (Up/Down): NA / 21,478

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 18,133

I would be grateful if you would check on my connection to see if it is possible (or wise) for it to be moved to the ‘up to 20 band’.  I hope that the above router data might indicate that such a move would be of benefit.
Thanks
Kentmere
3 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Is my Premium productt now an 'up to 20' connection?

You are on the up to 20 band as otherwise you wouldn't have a sync speed of 8558 kbps although the upstream hasn't been unlocked if that is a concern
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,106
Registered: 06-02-2008

Re: Is my Premium productt now an 'up to 20' connection?

The 'DSL Type' is the key here, G.992.5 is ADSL2+, G.992.3 is ADSL2, G.992.1 is ADSL1.
kentmere
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Is my Premium productt now an 'up to 20' connection?

Ok, thanks for replies.
Kentmere Smiley