cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Initial payment: £49.99? I only had my number activated today!

Arcsbite
Dabbler

Initial payment: £49.99? I only had my number activated today!

I'm new to plusnet. Signed up fir phone and fibre optic at my new address.
When i signed up I was charged an initial payment of "first month" plus router delivery.
Today i had an email telling me my phone is live and giving me my new number.
The top of the email said "Initial payment: £49.99"
Please can someone explain what this is all about?
My line rental should e £11.99 a month and I haven't even used the line yet, why is this so high? I did not authorise a charge like this and the email does nothing to explain what this is for.
24 REPLIES 24
scotslass86
Grafter

Re: Initial payment: £49.99? I only had my number activated today!

I came on to ask exactly the same thing i too switched today and received the same email, i hope its an error and someone can clarify for us?
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 392

£49.99 sounds like the installation fee for a new line.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

scotslass86
Grafter

dunno about the op but i didnt get a new line switched from BT to plusnet, hopefully plusnet staff can clear it up
orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Hi all,
Scotslass86 and Arcsbite - I've checked your billing and can confirm that you aren't being charged what's stated in the email, so it looks like the system is sending the wrong email somewhere there (that's a guess, I'll update when we've investigated and know more about what's happening). In the mean time, please be assured you won't be charged the £49.99 - as MisterW has advised that is the price for a new line, which isn't required in either of your cases here.