cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre to ADSL - lose number?

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 38
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎02-12-2016

Fibre to ADSL - lose number?

My mum is currently on fibre with Plusnet. She doesn't really need fibre, basic ADSL would do her fine.

She found alternative ADSL providers far cheaper than Plusne. But when she called Plusnet to tell them she was leaving (Plusnet told her she had to do this first so she could leave within her minimum contract period without charge because of the price changes) the Plusnet sales person told her that if she moved from Plusnet fibre to standard broadband with another provider she would lose her phone number.

Because of that she agreed to stay with Plusnet on a new 18 month contract with a discount. This is still £7 a month more than she would have paid with another ADSL provider, a longer minimum contract period (the alternative was 12 months) and presumably a steeper price hike when the 18 months is up.

I've never heard of this issue about losing your number when going from fibre back to ADSL and can't find anything abut it by googling - was this a straight up lie by the Plusnet rep?

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 23,497
Thanks: 4,018
Fixes: 1,032
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Fibre to ADSL - lose number?


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from ADSL Broadband to My Account / Billing

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 23,497
Thanks: 4,018
Fixes: 1,032
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Fibre to ADSL - lose number?

If they're transferring their landline as well, whcih I'm assuming is the case, there is a very slim chance this could happen.
Very unlikely and shouldn't happen though.

Maybe a PN staffer could listen to the call and clarify.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 38
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎02-12-2016

Re: Fibre to ADSL - lose number?

Thank you @dvorak - yes, she wanted to transfer line as well.

I'll talk to my mum to see if she wants to take this further - if so should I post back here or just get her to follow the normal Plusnet complaints process?

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 23,497
Thanks: 4,018
Fixes: 1,032
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Fibre to ADSL - lose number?

I'd wait for one of the PN staffers to respond here first, but entirely up to you Smiley
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,272
Thanks: 5,328
Fixes: 905
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Fibre to ADSL - lose number?

Thanks for your post @brightonbelle and apologies for the delayed response.

I can confirm that downgrading from fibre to standard broadband will have no effect on the phone line or number. If she's transferring the line then as long as we leave the number active, another provider should be able to port it out to them.

Could you PM me your mum's username so I can review this further for you please?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 38
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎02-12-2016

Re: Fibre to ADSL - lose number?

Thank you @Gandalf - I've sent you a PM.

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,272
Thanks: 5,328
Fixes: 905
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Fibre to ADSL - lose number?

Cheers, I'll message you back shortly

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team