cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Correcting address on Openreach database

FIXED
dg06
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 23-04-2014

Correcting address on Openreach database

Hope this is the correct place to post about this.

 

 

Openreach have the incorrect address listed on their database for my telephone line. The background to this is I had a fault earlier this year and the engineer went to the address on the OR database and not the house the telephone line goes to which caused some confusion and had to call me to ask where we were.

 

I contacted Plusnet chat about this problem, as I understand it is Plusnet who have to contact OR and request the changes. This was back in April and was told by the agent that they would email the faults team leader to get this updated with Openreach.

 

How long does it take for the changes to be made and the OR database to be corrected?

I ask as it seems it has not been changed.

 

I would be greatfull if one of the forum team could look into this for me.

20 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,522
Thanks: 368
Fixes: 4
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database

Yes, I assume you can't contact OpenReach directly.

As long as your address is correct on PlusNet's systems, I guess check your account settings - then I suppose it is only a matter they can correct.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,146
Thanks: 1,573
Fixes: 11
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database

Inconsistent data on the BTOR / BTW is a significant problem and can cause MAJOR problems should you ever wish to change ISP.  Getting the data changed can be both challenging and time consumingEvil

Hopefully one of the helpful support team will be along soon to advise you of the best way to proceed.

M

Highlighted
dg06
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 23-04-2014

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database

Hopefully one of the support team look at this today.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,804
Thanks: 2,294
Fixes: 385
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database

Hi there,

 

Is the address listed in your account here correct?

If not, mind PMing me your correct address?

 

Cheers

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,254
Thanks: 887
Fixes: 181
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database


dg06 wrote:

How long does it take for the changes to be made and the OR database to be corrected?

I ask as it seems it has not been changed.


Notes on your account suggest the OpenReach side/ORDI Request was done back in April and it usually takes around a week (1working day for the initial response and 4 working days to complete the request) to update.

 

I noticed that the ordering system was still showing an address different to your account, and this has now been corrected (Updating the address on the ordering system will only allow us to change the address to match openreach systems)

 

If the address on the page Anoush has linked to is incorrect, do let us know at your earliest convenience and we'll send off another ORDI request with the correct address.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,146
Thanks: 1,573
Fixes: 11
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database


HarryB wrote:

I noticed that the ordering system was still showing an address different to your account, and this has now been corrected (Updating the address on the ordering system will only allow us to change the address to match openreach systems)


This does sound a bit illogical @HarryB?  If I understand correctly:

  • the client knows that the BTOR database is showing an incorrect address
  • the ordering system has an address that does not match the BTOR address (presumably the OP's correct address?)
  • the ordering system will only allow a change to match the BTOR address
  • So the system is now consistent but WRONG.

Hopefully the OP will not wish to migrate prior to this inconsistent address being fixed or predictable delays will occur.  Evil

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,254
Thanks: 887
Fixes: 181
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database


MauriceC wrote:
  • the ordering system has an address that does not match the BTOR address (presumably the OP's correct address?)
  • the ordering system will only allow a change to match the BTOR address
  • So the system is now consistent but WRONG.

The account showed address A

The phone asset on our ordering system showed address B

I entered the NAD key for the address on the account (Address A), and it allowed it to be updated, indicating that the OR system has the same address we have on the account.

 

If an ORDI request had been sent off in the past (As stated on the account and my previous response) and corrected the OR system to match the Plusnet system, this would then need to be manually updated on the asset/ordering system.

 

I'm not sure which system you are saying is consistently wrong and until the OP advises if the address showing on their account is correct or incorrect, I wouldn't know if the address in the OR system and Plusnet system is wrong or right.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
dg06
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 23-04-2014

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database


Gandalf wrote:

Hi there,

 

Is the address listed in your account here correct?

If not, mind PMing me your correct address?

 

Cheers


 

Thanks for replying, yes the address on my plusnet account is the correct address.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,254
Thanks: 887
Fixes: 181
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database

Fix

Thanks for confirming that @dg06.

 

As far as I can see all 3 of the systems should match up now and be correct Thumbs Up

 

Apologies for any inconvenience this caused.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
dg06
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 23-04-2014

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database

@HarryB That's good to hear, just for clarity I have sent you a PM.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,254
Thanks: 887
Fixes: 181
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database

Thanks @dg06

 

Following your PM, I've provided a more detailed response (Discussing specific addresses etc.) via your account here: https://www.plus.net/wizard/?p=view_question&id=154810592

 

I hope this helps.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,146
Thanks: 1,573
Fixes: 11
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database

Thanks for clarifying and resolving this @HarryB

dg06
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 23-04-2014

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database

@HarryB Thank you for your assistance and the detailed response you sent, hopefully there won't be any issues in the future now the address is correct. 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,804
Thanks: 2,294
Fixes: 385
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Correcting address on Openreach database

No problems Thumbs Up

Harry's gone home for the night now, but let us know if we can ever be of further assistance.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team