cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Compensation - What a Let Down

FIXED
JCee

Compensation - What a Let Down

Why are Plusnet not offering the standard compensation as other providers? I had no broadband/phone line for 18 days (I work from home and broadband is essential to do my job). When I called to ask about compensation what I was offered in comparison to the Automatic Compensation given by the other providers is just wrong.

I'm new to Plusnet, switching from Sky a couple of months ago. Had I stayed with Sky my compensation would have been satisfactory and covered my extra expenses as well as not being able to access any of my subscribed services which I still had to pay for.

I don't know why Plusnet have not yet signed up to Ofcom's Automatic Compensation Scheme but they have have indicated that they will be signing up to the scheme but are unable to give a date. If this is the case what is stopping them paying me the same level of compensation as a gesture of goodwill? Where is the award winning customer service that convinced me to switch supplier?

The Customer Service Assistant I spoke to on the phone was of little help. When I asked how I speak to a  manager about this, I was told they couldn't put me in touch with anyone because they worked from home and was advised to keep calling their customer service number until I reached an employee that was actually working from an office who would then be able to put me through to a manager! 

Come on Plusnet. Surely you're better than this..........?

8 REPLIES 8
Baldrick1
Fixes: 417

Re: Compensation - What a Let Down

@JCee 

Plusnet are a budget provider. I'm afraid that you get what you pay for. If you want compensation etc. from the BT Retail goup then pay for the bells and whistles service provided by the BT branded service at a higher cost. I don't know of the EE service which I think is priced somewhere between the two.

Moderator and Customer