cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Caught out by Massive jump in Fibre costs per month

ceedy
Grafter

Caught out by Massive jump in Fibre costs per month

Was just about to renew  my yearly Line rental payment , when I got an email showing a jump from 17 to 49 pounds per month.

Now some of that is the full cost line rental I was about to renew. and also  the 24/7 Phone calls monthly cost , but my negotiated discount I got last renewal has been dumped.  no warning just a "we're having this amount  "  email  😉

Got  through to PN .. and  was given lots of   reasons  Roll_eyes why they can't offer me a similar discount to that I have been paying for the last 12 months or so ..

Seems PN all happy for me to jump Ship  and lose the 400 odd quid  for the sake of 60 ish .  does seems pretty [-Censored-] business model Crazy2.C

Discussed the offers online for new customers  and got a Speel about a low user count in our area etc ... wasn't mentioned nor a problem in any of my previous years. Undecided

C.

20 REPLIES 20
ejs
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 25

Re: Caught out by Massive jump in Fibre costs per month

When you consider the wholesale costs that Plusnet have to pay, especially for bandwidth (the bandwidth that Plusnet share between all their customers apparently costs over £40 per 1 Mbit/s per month), the business model that doesn't make sense is the selling of the broadband at a loss-making discount.

MauriceC
Resting Legend
Fixes: 17

ceedy wrote:this amount  "  email  ;-)

Discussed the offers online for new customers  and got a Speel about a low user count in our area etc

And using this logic - never will be a high user area?

M

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

aesmith
Pro
Fixes: 4

Sure that wasn't "Not a low cost area"?   Referring to the OFCOM market classifications?  

ceedy
Grafter