cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

using android call barring

puppethead
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎15-08-2019

using android call barring

Anyone know how to use the android call barring features?  In particular "all incoming calls".

 

Its asking for a pin which I don't have, and plusnet support don't know how to provide.  I think its sometimes called a puk2 or sim2 code to enable these features.

7 REPLIES 7
wisty
Pro
Posts: 522
Thanks: 80
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: using android call barring

On EE the PUK1 and PUK2 defaults are reported to be 1111.

According to previous threads (https://community.plus.net/t5/Mobile/Deafault-SIM-PIN/td-p/1392028/page/2) the default Plusnet PUK1 to allow SIM locking is 1111.

It looks like Plusnet use the EE defaults, but Plusnet SHOULD definitively know.  I would try 1111 once!

BT (on the same EE network) use 5555 and 6666 as the defaults for PUK1 and PUK2 respectively.

puppethead
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎15-08-2019

Re: using android call barring

Thanks I've tried all of those and others, it always gives the same message "network or sim card error".

 

I can see official guides to using the features on EE , like This , so I know the network supports it.

idonno
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 727
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎22-10-2015

Re: using android call barring

Be careful though, putting the wrong pin in too many times can end up with a locked up sim card. You'll need the puk number to unlock it. If you then get that wrong more than 10 times, it locks the sim card up permanently. You'd need a new sim then.

 

As the defaults aren't working, just wondered if you've changed the pin number at some time from the default. Its usually the first thing I do when I get a new sim. That way no one else can play with it.

Ever helpful. Grin Sure, I’d love to help you out. Now which way did you come in?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,399
Thanks: 276
Fixes: 80
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: using android call barring

Hi @puppethead,

 

I can confirm that the default SIM pin is 1111 as this isn't working, it's likely that you've changed the SIM pin at some point as @idonno has suggested.

 

If you can't remember what the pin was changed to, your phone will give the option to reset your pin after three failed attempts. You will need to enter the PUK code that came with the SIM.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,561
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 88
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: using android call barring

@EmilyD  Isn't call barring a network service ? Do PlusNet actually support this ?

puppethead
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎15-08-2019

Re: using android call barring

1111 is the pin1 code, and I can lock and unlock using that,  that doesn’t work in call barring, I think this is the pin2 code, which I don’t know

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,077
Thanks: 174
Fixes: 42
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: using android call barring

Hi @puppethead, thanks for your message.

 

On the back of @MisterWs comments, I've emailed our Mobile Operations Team for clarification.

 

I expect an update within the next 5 working days and will update you here once I receive a response.

 

Please let us know if you need any further assistance in the meantime.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Owen P
 Plusnet Help Team